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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 14 (Blakespear) – As Amended May 23, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:  21-10 

SUBJECT:  State agencies:  solid waste diversion:  single-use plastic bottles 

SUMMARY:  This bill prohibits state agencies from entering into a contract to purchase single-

use plastic bottles, as defined, and requires state agencies to take appropriate steps to replace the 

use of single-use plastic bottles at food service facilities with nonplastic, recyclable, and reusable 

alternatives, as specified.  Additionally, this bill requires state agencies to include in their 

integrated waste management plan (IWMP) descriptions of actions to be taken to source reduce 

materials, as specified, and submit an IWMP to California’s Department of Resources Recycling 

and Recovery (CalRecycle) for review and approval, as specified.    

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Establishes the State Agency Buy Recycled Campaign (SABRC), which:   

 

a) Requires agencies to purchase products that contain specified minimum amounts of 

postconsumer recycled content (PCR) material in 16 reportable product categories, as 

specified. (Public Contracts Code (PCC) 12209) 

 

b) Requires, fitness and quality being equal, that each state agency to purchase recycled 

products instead of nonrecycled products whenever recycled products are available at the 

same or lesser total cost than recycled products.  (PCC 12201) 

 

c) Requires state agencies to ensure that at least 75% of the purchases in a specified product 

category to be recycled products.  Specifies that for paint, antifreeze, and tires, 50% of 

the purchases must be recycled products. (PCC 12203) 

 

d) Requires annual reporting of progress in meeting these requirements.  Require the 

Department of General Services (DGS), if a requirement has not been met, in 

consultation with CalRecycle, to review purchasing policies and make recommendations 

for immediate revisions to ensure that the recycled product purchasing requirements are 

met, as specified. (PCC 12217) 

 

2) Requires DGS, in consultation with the California Environmental Protection Agency, 

members of the public, industry, and public health and environmental organizations, to 

provide state agencies with information and assistance regarding environmentally preferable 

purchasing.  (PCC 12401)  

3) Establishes the California Beverage Container Recycling and Litter Reduction Act (Bottle 

Bill), which requires beverage containers, as defined, to have a California redemption value 

(CRV) of 5 cents for containers that hold fewer than 24 ounces and 10 cents for containers 

that hold 24 ounces or more.  Requires beverage distributors to pay a redemption payment to 

CalRecycle for every beverage container sold in the state.  Provides that these funds are 
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continuously appropriated to CalRecycle for, among other things, the payment of refund 

values and processing payments. (PRC 14500 et seq.) 

4) Establishes the Plastic Pollution Prevention and Packaging Producer Responsibility Act (SB 

54 [Allen], Chapter 75, Statutes of 2022), which imposes minimum recycled content 

requirements and source reduction requirements for single-use packaging and food service 

ware, as defined.  Requires compliance with the requirements to take place through an 

expanded producer responsibility program.  Excludes beverage containers subject to the 

Bottle Bill from the definition of single-use packaging and food service ware.  (Public 

Resources Code (PRC) 42040 et seq.) 

5) Requires plastic beverage containers subject to the Bottle Bill to contain specified 

percentages of PCR plastic annually:  

i) From January 1, 2022 until December 31, 2024, no less than 15%;  

ii) From January 1, 2025 until December 31, 2029, no less than 25%; and,  

iii) On and after January 1, 2030, no less than 50%. (PRC 14547) 

6) Establishes the Sustainable Packaging for the State of California Act of 2018, which requires 

food service facilities, as defined, located in a state-owned facility or operating on state 

property from dispensing prepared food using food service packaging unless the food service 

packaging has been determined by CalRecycle to be reusable, recyclable, or compostable.  

(PRC 42370-42370.7) 

7) Requires each state agency to develop an IWMP for source reduction, recycling, and 

composting activities.  (PRC 42920) 

8) Requires state agencies and large state facilities to divert at least 50% of all solid waste 

through source reduction, recycling, and composting activities.  (PRC 42921) 

9) Requires each state agency to submit an annual report to CalRecycle summarizing its 

progress in reducing solid waste as required by PRC 42921.  (PRC 42926) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Prohibits state agencies from entering into, modifying, amending, or renewing a contract to 

purchase single-use plastic bottles with a capacity less than 24 ounces made of less than 90% 

recycled plastic for internal use or resale.  Exempts bottles containing milk and 100% fruit 

juice.   

2) Encourages every state agency to install and maintain at least one water bottle refill station 

located to ensure maximum access by all visitors and to allow visitors to bring their own 

reusable beverage bottle.  

3) Requires state agencies to take appropriate steps to replace the use of single-use plastic 

bottles at food service facilities with nonplastic, recyclable, and reusable alternatives, 

including, but not limited to, glass bottles, aluminum cans, water fountains, or water bottle 

refill stations.  
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4) Authorizes state agencies to enter into a contract to purchase single-use plastic bottles made 

from less than 90% recycled plastic only when reasonably necessary to protect the general 

health, safety, and welfare in preparing for or responding to an emergency.   

5) Authorizes the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) to enter into or renew 

a contract to purchase single-use plastic bottles made of less than 90% recycled plastic to 

provide for sale in a canteen or to provide bottled water as required by statute.   

6) Requires DGS to ensure that any new, modified, or renewed agreements, contracts, or 

procurement undertaken by a food service facility as part of a contract or agreement with 

DGS complies with the requirements of the bill.   

7) Requires a state agency to submit a report to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee 

confirming its compliance with this bill on or before January 1, 2027.  

8) Requires state IWMPs to include a description of actions to be taken to source reduce 

materials, including, but not limited to:  

a) Actions to achieve 50% reusable options for foodware, including utensils and containers;  

b) Actions to source reduce organic material waste and single-use plastics;  

c) Actions to reduce paper purchasing relative to 2024 levels by at least 30% by 2030;  

d) Actions to divert solid waste in accordance with PRC 42921;  

e) Actions to provide adequate educational tools to inform occupants of each facility under 

its purview on best practices for recycling and composting to achieve higher composting 

and recycling outcomes; and,  

f) Actions to have recyclable and organic material reach responsible end markets.   

9) Requires each state agency to submit its IWMP to CalRecycle for review and approval on or 

before July 15, 2027.   

10) If a state agency does not have an approved IWMP by January 1, 2028, specifies that the 

model IWMP shall take effect on that date.   

11) Requires CalRecycle to publish a list of products available for purchase by state agencies that 

would reduce the overall amount of plastic or paper waste generated by January 1, 2027.   

12) Requires state agencies to include information relating to efforts and progress made 

regarding recycling and composting within state buildings in its annual report to CalRecycle.   

13) States that if the Commission on State Mandates determines that this bill contains costs 

mandated by the state, reimbursement to local agencies and school districts for those costs 

shall be made pursuant to Part 7 (commencing with Section 17500) of Division 4 of Title 2 

of the Government Code. 

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, “CalRecycle reports 

ongoing costs of approximately $188,000 beginning in Fiscal Year (FY) 2025-26 for one 
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additional personnel year (PY) to develop, review, and approve IWMPs.  CalRecycle notes that 

its primary fund source, the Integrated Waste Management Account (IWMA), cannot support the 

additional workload resulting from this bill.  Staff notes if the fiscal impact of this bill cannot be 

absorbed through the IWMA, cost will likely be from the General Fund. 

Additionally, CDCR reports a significant fiscal impact, potentially ranging in the hundreds of 

thousands to millions of dollars, to source compliant alternatives to single-use plastic bottles and 

foodware in its custodial settings.  Other costs to CDCR include workload related to revising 

purchasing policies, updating IWMPs, and for additional staff time for ongoing compliance 

monitoring and reporting. 

Additionally, DGS reports a one-time cost of approximately $340,000 for a limited-term PY over 

a period of two years to develop policy and training materials, update the State Contracting and 

Administrative Manuals, and monitor compliance with contract requirements (Service Revolving 

Fund). 

Also, unknown significant fiscal impact across all state agencies, totaling into the high hundreds 

to millions of dollars, to update IWMPs and to revise purchasing policies (General Fund and 

various special funds).  For example, the Department of Transportation anticipates costs in the 

low hundreds of thousands of dollars for a limited-term staff to develop and update its IWMP for 

over 1,000 buildings, implement the IWMP, and provide education and training on recycling and 

composting best practices for its 22,000 employees cross the state.  While not all state agencies 

may require the same resources as Caltrans, total costs to comply with the bill will still be 

significant. 

Furthermore, unknown significant increase in contracting costs, potentially ranging in the 

millions of dollars annually, for state agencies to adhere to procurement requirements as 

specified in this bill. The actual impact on overall contracting costs will depend on the extent that 

state agencies may already be phasing out the use and procurement of single-use plastic bottles 

and other single-use plastics, and providing reusable options for foodware. 

Finally, unknown state reimbursable mandate costs.  By requiring state agencies to comply with 

specified contracting and reporting requirements, this bill creates a state-mandated local 

program.  To the extent the Commission on State Mandates determines that the provisions of this 

bill create a new program or impose a higher level of service on local agencies, local agencies 

could claim reimbursement of those costs.  The magnitude is unknown, but potentially in excess 

of $50,000 annually (General Fund).  

COMMENTS:   

1) Plastic pollution. Plastics pose a threat to the environment from origin to end-of-life. Plastic 

production is responsible for three and a half percent of all greenhouse gas emissions—more 

than the entire aviation sector.  In 2021, global plastics production was estimated at 390.7 

million metric tons, a 4% increase from the previous year.  Nearly all plastic (99%) is made 

from fossil fuels, and the plastic industry is the fastest-growing source of industrial 

greenhouse gases in the world: the plastic industry’s greenhouse gas emissions are expected 

to surpass those of coal-fired power in the United States by 2030.  The United Nations 

Environment Programme reports that only 9% of all plastic ever made has been recycled, 

12% has been incinerated, and the remaining 79% has accumulated in landfills and the 

environment.  
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Once plastics enter the environment, they remain there for hundreds to thousands of years. 

Plastics do not break down into their constituent parts, but instead break down into smaller 

and smaller particles, or microplastics.  Because they are so small, microplastics can travel in 

the air and water, and can be easily absorbed by living things and accumulate up the food 

chain.  Microplastics have been found in the most pristine natural environments on earth, 

including in the deep ocean, Antarctic sea ice, and in the sand of remote deserts.   
 

Micoplastics are found in household dust and drinking water (bottled and tap), causing 

people to inhale and consume them. In January of this year, the National Institutes of Health 

tested three popular brands of bottled water.  On average, the researchers found that “a liter 

of bottled water included about 240,000 tiny pieces of plastic.”  The water did not just 

contain plastic from the bottle; they found seven common forms of plastic.  A March 2024 

study published in Science of the Total Environment identified microplastics in all human 

tissues sampled, with the polyvinyl chloride being the dominant polymer.  The highest 

abundance of microplastics were found in human lung tissue, followed by the small intestine, 

large intestine, and tonsils.  A February 2024 study published in Toxicological Sciences 

analyzed samples of 62 human placentas and found microplastics present in every sample.  

Shockingly little information exists about the potential health impacts of microplastics 

exposure.  Laboratory studies have found that microplastics increase the risk of cancer and 

disrupt hormone pathways in lab rats. 

 

Plastic pollution and the impacts of microplastics on human health fall disproportionately on 

marginalized communities.  Both due to plastics and to the environmental impacts of plastic 

production.  Nearly all plastic is produced from fossil fuels and generates greenhouse gas 

emissions and toxic chemicals that impact air and water quality.  About 14% of oil is used in 

petrochemical manufacturing, a precursor to producing plastic. By 2050, plastic production is 

predicted to account for 50% of oil and fracked gas demand growth.  According to Feeding 

the Plastics Industrial Complex:  Taking Public Subsidies, Breaking Pollution Limits, a 

report released on March, 14, 2024, by the Environmental Integrity Project, “more than 66% 

of people within three miles of factories that manufacture the main ingredients in plastic 

products are people of color living in communities that are over-exposed to air pollution 

while schools and other public services are chronically underfunded.”  The report notes that 

these facilities receive billions in subsidies while repeatedly violating environmental laws 

and regulations.  For example, Indorama, the world’s largest producer of polyethylene 

terephthalate (PET) resins used in beverage containers and other single-use packaging, cited 

a facility in Louisiana that cracks natural gas or oil into ethylene.  The facility received both a 

$1.5 million grant from the state and an exemption from local taxes – a subsidy estimated to 

be worth at least $73 million over 10 years.  In return, Indorama violated its permitted air 

pollution control limits.  In one example, over five months in 2019, the facility released more 

than 90 times the permitted level of volatile organic compounds.  Instead of coming into 

compliance after multiple violations, the state revised the facility’s pollution control permit 

to allow higher levels of emissions.   

 

2) Postconsumer recycled content. Recycling plastic can reduce the harms associated with 

producing new plastic and reduce the overall amount of plastic in the environment.  Plastic 

recycling saves between 30% and 80% of the carbon emissions associated with virgin plastic; 

and recycling uses around 75% less energy to make a plastic bottle, depending on the 

recycling technology used.  Recycling plastic material also has the potential to reduce plastic 
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pollution; using recycled plastic instead of creating new plastic means that there is less 

plastic overall to end up as litter. In addition, viewing plastic as a valuable source of material 

that can be converted into new products helps to support a circular economy in which plastic 

is viewed as a commodity rather than a waste product.  

While recycling plastic into new products is one way to reduce plastic pollution, as it keeps 

the recycled plastic out of the environment and reduces our dependence on virgin resin, 

recycling is currently only feasible for some of the more common, and least toxic, forms of 

plastic.   

Setting ambitious PCR content requirements is only effective if the PCR is actually physical 

recycled content.  Recycled plastic can be indistinguishable from newly synthesized plastic, 

and making recycled content can be more expensive than making new plastic. This creates an 

unfortunate incentive for unscrupulous businesses that want to sell new plastic as PCR.  

Recent concerns have been raised that postconsumer recycled content may in fact be sourced 

from new material or that the accounting for PCR rates in bottles may lead to inflated PCR 

rates on paper that do not reflect the actual amount of PCR content in a finished product. 

3) State Agency Buy Recycled Campaign.  SABRC is a joint effort between CalRecycle and 

DGS to implement laws that require state agencies and the Legislature to purchase recycled-

content products and track those purchases.  SABRC requires state agencies to ensure 

specific percentages of reportable purchases are recycled products. 

 

Under SABRC, if fitness and quality are equal, each state agency must purchase recycled 

products instead of nonrecycled products whenever recycled products are available with no 

more than a 10% cost differential. Each state agency is required to report annually its 

progress in meeting the recycled product purchasing requirements to CalRecycle.  If DGS 

determines a requirement has not been met, DGS must, in consultation with CalRecycle, 

review purchasing policies and recommend immediate revisions to ensure the recycled 

product purchasing requirements are met.  The 16 reportable categories are: 

 

 Paper products; 

 Printing and writing papers; 

 Soil amendments and toppings; 

 Glass products; 

 Lubricating oils; 

 Plastic products; 

 Paint; 

 Antifreeze; 

 Tires; 

 Tire-derived products;  

 Metal Products;  

 Building finishes;  

 Carpet;  

 Erosion control products;  

 Textiles; and,  

 Pavement surfacing.  
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4) Bottle Bill.  The Bottle Bill was established in 1986 to be a self-funded program that 

encourages consumers to recycle beverage containers and to prevent littering. The program 

accomplishes this goal by requiring consumers to pay a deposit for each eligible container 

purchased.  Then the program guarantees consumers repayment of that deposit, the CRV, for 

each eligible container returned to a certified recycler.  Statute includes two main goals for 

the program:  (1) reducing litter; and, (2) achieving a recycling rate of 80% for eligible 

containers.  Containers recycled through the Bottle Bill’s certified recycling centers also 

provides a consistent, clean, uncontaminated stream of recycled materials with minimal 

processing.   

 

In an effort to promote circularity within the Bottle Bill, the Legislature passed AB 793 

(Ting), Chapter 115, Statutes of 2020, which requires plastic beverage containers subject to 

the Bottle Bill to contain minimum quantities of PCR plastic.  Specifically, bottles must 

contain 15% PCR by 2022, 25% by 2025, and 50% by 2030. AB 793 grants the director of 

CalRecycle the ability to review and adjust the minimum PCR content requirements.  

5) State agency IWMPs.  State agencies and large state facilities are required to develop 

IWMPs and implement waste prevention, reuse, and recycling programs to reduce waste and 

meet waste diversion goals. State agencies and large state facilities are required to: 

 

 Divert at least 50 percent of their solid waste; 

 Arrange for recycling and organics recycling services;  

 Designate at least one solid waste reduction and recycling coordinator to oversee waste 

management plans and programs; 

 Provide adequate receptacles, signage, education, and staffing to implement the waste 

and recycling programs; 

 Review the adequacy and condition of recycling receptacles, associated signage, 

education, and staffing for each covered state agency and large state facility at least 

annually; and,  

 Submit an annual report for the prior calendar year, a summary of compliance, disposal 

amounts, and an explanation of diversion activities to CalRecycle.   

 

The requirements for state agencies have not kept pace with other state policies expand waste 

management policies to focus on circularity – moving beyond a focus on diversion to 

ensuring that materials diverted from in-state disposal are actually recycled into new 

products.  

 

6) Bottle bans.  In 2018, the California State University system enacted a policy that banned 

plastic straws and single-use plastic bags in 2019, expanded polystyrene food service items in 

2021, and single-use plastic water bottles by 2023. Subsequently, the University of California 

enacted a policy in 2020 that eliminated the use of plastic bags by 2021, single-use food 

service items by 2022, and single-use plastic bottles by 2023.   

 

In Massachusetts, Executive Order 619 of 2023 prohibits state executive departments from 

purchasing single-use plastic bottles.  The order applies to single-use plastic bottles 21 

ounces or less containing beverages including, but not limited to, water, juice, milk, and soft 

drinks.  The order authorizes state departments to limit the purchase or use of single-use 

plastic bottles only under the following circumstances:  1) No alternative is available or 

practicable; 2) Necessary to protect health, safety, and welfare; 3) Compliance would conflict 
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with contract requirements or labor agreements solicited before the effective date of the 

order; and, 4) To prepare for an emergency.  

7) This bill.  Rather than banning plastic bottles in state facilities, this bill sets an ambitious 

recycled content requirement for plastic bottles purchased by state facilities.  According to 

the author, this requirement is intended to spur markets for recycled content plastic in the 

state.  In practice, it would be infeasible for beverage manufacturers to produce separate 

bottles for sale in state facilities.  Instead, this bill will most likely result in state facilities 

only purchasing beverages that are already available in high-PCR plastic bottles, aluminum 

containers, and glass containers.       

 

This bill additionally updates the requirements for state agency IWMPs by requiring state 

agencies to include plans to move away from single-use plastic foodware and to ensure that 

organics and plastics are actually recycled after they are collected in state facilities.   

8) Author’s statement:  

Every day, California sends 12,000 tons of plastic to landfills – enough to fill 219 

Olympic-sized swimming pools.  Across the United States, only 5-6% of plastic 

was recycled in 2021.  Waste that isn’t sent to landfills often ends up polluting 

communities and the environment.  Single-use plastic are among the most 

extractive, wasteful and harmful products in our society.  One way to tackle the 

problem and reduce the enormous flow of waste is to move to a circular economy, 

which focuses on reusing and recycling products.  This, in turn, slows resource 

consumption and prevents today’s products from becoming tomorrow’s 

throwaway garbage.  The circular economy principle applies not only to plastic, 

but to all waste, including organics, which can be turned into useful products like 

compost or energy. 

 

Pursuing a circular economy helps California achieve its environmental and clean 

energy goals.  SB 14 ensures that state agencies are leading the charge.  The 

legislation requires state agencies to purchase and sell only single-use plastic 

bottles that contain at least 90% postconsumer recycled content.  This will not 

only reduce the amount of plastic generated, it will also leverage the state’s 

considerable purchasing power to support recycling markets.  In addition, the bill 

will require state agencies to take more measures to reduce waste and recycle 

plastic and organic material, as part of their integrated waste management plans.   

9) Suggested amendment.  Given the challenges associated with procuring plastic bottles with 

90% PCR, the committee may wish to amend the bill to remove Section 1 from the bill and 

instead require that state facilities purchase plastic beverage containers that comply with the 

PCR requirements established by AB 793 and to include actions to promote the use of water 

refill stations in state facilities in their IWMPs.   

10) Previous/related legislation.   

AB 2648 (Bennet, 2024) would have prohibited state agencies from purchasing single-use 

plastic bottles, as specified.  This bill was held on the Assembly Inactive File. 
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AB 661 (Bennett), Chapter 517, Statutes of 2022, made numerous changes to SABRC:  1) 

Mandates CalReycle and DGS, in consultation with impacted agencies, to update the list of 

identified products and update the minimum recycled content percentages commencing 

January 1, 2026, and every three years thereafter; 2) Requires state agencies to purchase 

recycled products instead of nonrecycled products whenever recycled products are available 

at no more than 10% greater total cost than nonrecycled products; 3) Revises and expands the 

product categories; 4) Requires CalRecycle to update the list of products and minimum 

recycled content percentages, as specified; and, 5) Requires DGS to maintain procedures for 

complying with SABRC. 

 

AB 793 (Ting), Chapter 115, Statutes of 2020, establishes a tiered program requiring the total 

number of plastic beverage containers sold by a beverage manufacturer to contain specified 

average amounts of PRC plastic starting January 1, 2022, and reaching at least 50% recycled 

content by January 1, 2030. 

 

SB 1335 (Allen), Chapter 610, Statutes of 2018, prohibits a state food service facility from 

dispensing prepared food using type of food service packaging unless the packaging is on a 

specified list maintain by CalRecycle and has been determined to be reusable, recyclable, or 

compostable. 

 

9) Double referral.  This bill has also been referred to the Assembly Governmental 

Organization Committee.   

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

California Compost Coalition 

California Product Stewardship Council  

CR&R, Inc.  

Green Policy Initiative  

Republic Services 

South Bayside Waste Management Authority  

Stopwaste 

Opposition 

American Beverage Association 

California Automatic Vendors Council  

California Manufacturers & Technology Association  

Consumer Brands Association  

International Bottled Water Association 

PET Recycling Corp. of California  

Analysis Prepared by: Elizabeth MacMillan / NAT. RES. / 
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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 34 (Richardson) – As Amended April 30, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:  31-1 

SUBJECT:  Air pollution:  South Coast Air Quality Management District:  mobile sources:  

public seaports 

SUMMARY:  Imposes specified conditions and limits on actions by the South Coast Air Quality 

Management District (SCAQMD) to regulate air pollution from mobile sources associated with 

operation of the Ports of Long Beach and Los Angeles. Covered actions include the SCAQMD’s 

proposed Rule 2304 to regulate indirect sources at the ports, as well as a wide range of other past 

and future SCAQMD actions, until 2036. 

EXISTING LAW:    

1) The federal Clean Air Act (CAA) and its implementing regulations set National Ambient 

Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for six criteria pollutants, designate air basins that do not 

achieve NAAQS as nonattainment, and require states with nonattainment areas to submit a 

State Implementation Plan (SIP) detailing how they will achieve compliance with NAAQS. 

(42 U.S.C. 7401 et seq.) 

2) Establishes the Air Resources Board (ARB) as the air pollution control agency in California 

and requires the ARB, among other things, to control emissions from a wide array of mobile 

sources and coordinate with local air districts to control emissions from stationary sources in 

order to implement the CAA. (Health and Safety Code (HSC) 39000 et seq.) 

3) Requires, subject to the powers and duties of the ARB, air districts to adopt and enforce 

rules and regulations to achieve and maintain the state and federal air quality standards in all 

areas affected by emission sources under their jurisdiction, and to enforce all applicable 

provisions of state and federal law. (HSC 40001) 

4) Authorizes a district to adopt and implement regulations to reduce or mitigate emissions 

from indirect and areawide sources of air pollution, while preserving the existing authority 

of counties and cities to plan or control land use. (HSC 40716) 

 

5) Requires each district with moderate air pollution to include provisions to develop areawide 

source and indirect source control programs in its attainment plan. (HSC 40918) 

 

6) Establishes SCAQMD as the agency within the South Coast Air Basin with the 

responsibility for comprehensive air pollution control, with the duty to represent the citizens 

of the basin in influencing the decisions of other public and private agencies whose actions 

might have an adverse impact on air quality in the basin (HSC 40400 et seq.)  

 

THIS BILL: 

1) For SCAQMD actions to control port-related sources of air pollution: 
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a) Requires the action to: 

i) Recognize the contributions of sources of air pollution outside of the control of the 

ports. 

ii) Require the ports to prepare assessments of energy demand and supply, cost 

estimates, and funding source, workforce, and environmental impacts. 

iii) Use the assessments prepared by the ports to determine the timelines for achieving 

the action’s targets. 

iv) Create a process by which the ports can request extensions to the timelines developed 

to achieve the action’s targets. 

b) Prohibits the action from: 

i) Imposing a cap on cargo throughput or limiting operations at the ports. 

ii) Requiring any actions that reduce pollution from sources that are exclusively under 

the purview of the state or federal government. 

iii) Setting any shorter timeline for achieving zero-emission technology or zero-emission 

drayage trucks than what was stated in the 2017 Update to the San Pedro Ports Clean 

Air Action Plan and the 2017 Joint Declaration of the Mayors of the Cities of Los 

Angeles and Long Beach. 

iv) Using public funds or grants, whether municipal, county, state, or federal funds or 

grants, to require, incentivize, encourage, or otherwise promote the use of automated, 

remotely controlled, or remotely operated equipment, or infrastructure to support 

automated, remotely controlled, or remotely operated equipment. 

2) Authorizes actions that result in the procurement and operation of human-operated, zero-

emission equipment and infrastructure to support human-operated, zero-emission equipment 

at the ports. 

3) Defines “action” as either of the following: 

a) The adoption or amendment to Rule 2304 Commercial Marine Ports, or any successor or 

replacement rule or regulation. 

b) The adoption or amendment of any other rule or regulation adopted by, or the entering 

into of any agreement, including, but not limited to, a compact, pact, contract, pledge, 

settlement, covenant, accord, letter of agreement, letter or declaration of intent, letter of 

understanding, or memorandum of understanding by, the south coast district board to 

address pollution from any mobile source that is already subject to regulation by ARB 

and that is associated with an operation at any public seaport or marine terminal facility 

at a public seaport. 

4) Sunsets January 1, 2036. 

5) Makes related findings. 
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FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Appropriations Committee: 

 ARB estimates cost pressures in the millions to tens of millions of dollars (various funds) to 

find and fund equivalent emissions reductions from other sources during the period this bill 

would be in effect, or until January 1, 2036, in order to ensure the same progress toward 

meeting state climate goals as what otherwise would have occurred absent this bill. 

 

 By imposing additional duties on the SCAQMD and the ports, this bill would create a state-

mandated local program. To the extent the Commission on State Mandates determines that 

the provisions of this bill create a new program or impose a higher level of service on local 

agencies, local agencies could claim reimbursement of those costs. (General Fund). 

 

COMMENTS:   

1) Background. The San Pedro Bay Ports are the busiest in the nation. As such, the Ports are 

also major economic drivers through direct job creation and by supporting manufacturing and 

industry related to goods movement activity, generating employment for nearly three million 

Americans nationwide. They handle millions of tons of cargo a year worth hundreds of 

billions of dollars – 40% of the nation’s imports and exports of goods, from produce to 

electronics to pharmaceuticals. 

 

These neighboring ports are also the region’s largest single sources of air pollution. Every 

day, their equipment, trucks, rail yards and ships emit 23 tons of smog-forming nitrogen 

oxides, half a ton of fine particles and nearly a ton of sulfur into the air, according to 2023 

data from SCAQMD. That amounts to 8,472 tons of nitrogen and 183 tons of fine particles a 

year. 

 

Recognizing the need for a comprehensive, far-reaching strategy to reduce port-related air 

pollution and related health risks, the Port of Los Angeles and Port of Long Beach developed 

the San Pedro Bay Ports Clean Air Action Plan (CAAP). Originally adopted in 2006, with 

updates in 2010 and 2017, the CAAP includes goals of achieving 100% zero emissions 

operations for cargo handling equipment by 2030, and drayage trucks by 2035. Though 

laudable, these two categories comprise only about 14% of total port emissions, combined.  

 

Port emissions have declined substantially since 2005 and the ports have met the emission 

reductions goals established in their 2010 CAAP – which the ports elected not to revise in the 

2017 CAAP. These targets therefore do not reflect the additional reductions still needed from 

port operations to meet air quality standards. Moreover, most of the emissions reductions to 

date at the Ports have been from ARB regulations, including regulations covering Heavy-

Duty Trucks and Busses, Drayage Trucks, Ocean Going Vessel Fuels, Ultra Low Sulfur 

Diesel, Cargo Handling Equipment, and Ocean Going Vessel At-Berth power.  

 

The SCAQMD Governing Board had directed staff to work with the Ports on a Memorandum 

of Understanding (MOU) until February 4, 2022, and then shift efforts to develop a rule if no 

agreement was reached. Although the Port of Long Beach’s MOU proposal did include a 

number of clean air investments, the Ports’ overall proposals did not provide sufficient 

measures to reduce emissions. The Ports’ proposal also did not allow for enforceability 

should the agreed-upon actions not be implemented. 
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The SCAQMD published on February 21, 2025, its first draft of a proposed rule (Rule 2304) 

that would require the two ports to develop a plan by August 2027 to build charging and 

fueling stations to switch thousands of pieces of diesel equipment, trucks and vessels to 

electricity and hydrogen.  

 

The rule would aim to ensure that the Los Angeles and Long Beach ports can achieve the 

clean-air goals they set for themselves back in 2017: converting 100% of their diesel cargo-

handling equipment – such as tractors and giant, 60-foot cranes that move containers – to 

zero emissions by 2030. They also aim for all drayage trucks, which haul the ports’ 

containers of cargo to warehouses, to run on electricity or hydrogen by 2035. 

 

The most recent draft Rule 2304 was published June 13. The draft rule states “Nothing in this 

rule shall be construed to impose a limit on cargo throughput.” The rule is scheduled for board 

consideration October 3, 2025. 

 

2) Author’s statement: 

 

SB 34 is designed to protect jobs in local communities in addition to the local, regional, 

state and national economies, while continuing to improve air quality in the communities 

surrounding the San Pedro Bay Port Complex area. It does not prevent SCAQMD from 

proposing any action. It simply asks that certain criteria be considered when adopting an 

action. Given the current fluctuation of the economy, stubborn inflation, and the 

imposition of tariffs, now is certainly not the time to hinder productivity at our ports. SB 

34 seeks to allow the Port of LA and the Port of Long Beach to continue to focus on its 

joint Clean Air Action Plan to meet 2030 and 2035 goals. 

 

3) Collateral effects. In its current form, this bill goes well beyond the sponsors’ stated 

concerns with proposed Rule 2304’s potential impacts on port commerce and jobs. The bill 

applies to an indefinite range of SCAQMD actions, past and future. The bill empowers the 

ports to frustrate and delay a wide range of SCAQMD actions and purports to retroactively 

impose burdensome conditions on past rules and other actions that were valid at the time they 

were adopted. In addition to delaying or preventing future actions until 2036, the bill may 

require SCAQMD to update many past actions and existing rules affecting the ports to 

comply with the bill’s conditions. This may impose additional, unjustified cost and delay on 

district rules and all manner of other lesser actions, including voluntary agreements where the 

district is but one of multiple parties. The bill may also invite litigation over conditions that 

are subjective or not clearly defined, such as applying to any action that “addresses 

pollution” and prohibiting any action that “limits operations” at the ports. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

International Longshore & Warehouse Union Local 13 (sponsor) 

International Longshore & Warehouse Union Local 63 (sponsor) 

International Longshore & Warehouse Union Local 94 (sponsor) 

Avance Democratic Club 

California Human Development 
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California Retailers Association 

California Trucking Association 

Center for Employment Training 

Central Valley Opportunity Center 

First Day Foundation 

LA Cooperativa Campesina De California 

Latino Heritage LA 

Los Amigos De LA Comunidad 

Proteus 

Utility Workers Union of America, Local 483 

Opposition 

Active San Gabriel Valley 

American Lung Association 

Bay Area Air Quality Management District 

California Air Pollution Control Officers Association 

California Business Alliance for a Clean Economy 

California Coastal Protection Network 

California Nurses for Environmental Health & Justice 

Center for Biological Diversity 

Clean Air Task Force 

Cleanearth4kids.org 

Climate Action Campaign 

Coalition for Clean Air 

Communities for a Better Environment 

E2 (Environmental Entrepreneurs) 

Earthjustice 

East Yard Communities for Environmental Justice 

Environmental Defense Fund 

Environmental Health Coalition 

Facts Families Advocating for Chemical and Toxics Safety 

Greenlatinos 

Greenlining Institute 

Los Angeles Cleantech Incubator 

Mothers Out Front Silicon Valley 

Move LA 

NRDC 

Ocean Conservancy 

Pacific Environment 

Pacific Maritime Association (unless amended) 

Pacific Merchant Shipping Association (unless amended) 

People's Collective for Environmental Justice 

Regional Asthma Management and Prevention (RAMP) 

S.F. Bay Physicians for Social Responsibility 

San Diego County Air Pollution Control District 

Santa Cruz Climate Action Network 

Sierra Club California 
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South Coast Air Quality Management District 

Union of Concerned Scientists 

 

Analysis Prepared by: Lawrence Lingbloom / NAT. RES. / 
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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 279 (McNerney) – As Amended June 30, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:  38-0 

SUBJECT:  Solid waste:  compostable materials 

SUMMARY:  Reduces the regulatory requirements for small composting operations and 

agricultural operations.   

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Requires the Air Resources Board (ARB) to develop a comprehensive strategy to reduce the 

emissions of short-lived climate pollutants (SLCP) to achieve a 40% reduction in methane 

emissions, 40% reduction in hydrofluorocarbon gases, and 50% reduction in anthropogenic 

black carbon below 2013 levels by 2030.  (Health and Safety Code (HSC) 39730-39730.5)  

2) Requires the state to reduce the disposal of organic waste by 40% from the 2014 level by 

2020 and 75% by 2025 to help achieve the state’s methane reduction goal.  (HSC 39730.6)  

3) Establishes regulatory tiers for composting facilities based on size and materials, including:  

  

a)  Excluded Activities Tier, which excludes the following activities from the Department 

of Resources Recovery and Recycling’s (CalRecycle’s) composting regulatory 

requirements:  

 

i) Composting green material, agricultural material, food material, and vegetative 

food material if the total amount of feedstock and compost on-site at any one 

time does not exceed 100 cubic yards (CY) and 750 square feet. Specifies that 

individuals composting these materials are obligated to obtain all permits, 

licenses, and other clearances that may be required by other regulatory agencies, 

including, but not limited to, local health entities and local land use authorities. 

 

ii) An activity that handles agricultural material, derived from an agricultural site if 

no more than 1,000 CY of compost product are given away or sold annually 

from this operation.  

 

iii) Vermicomposting operations.  

 

iv) Mushroom farming.  

 

v) Storage of bagged compost material if such bags are no greater than 5 cubic 

yards.  (California Code of Regulations (CCR) 17855) 

 

b) Enforcement Agency Notification Tier, which requires notification of the operation to 

local enforcement agencies (LEAs) and other specified criteria. This tier includes 

agricultural material composting operations, green material composting operations, 
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biosolids composting operations at publicly owned treatment works, research 

composting operations less than 5,000 CY, chipping and grinding operations less than 

200 tons per day, and land application, as specified.  (CCR 17854.1)  

 

c) Registration Permit Tier, which requires operators to submit specified information, 

including a Report of Facility Information (RFI) and pertinent California Environmental 

Quality Act (CEQA) documents.  Compost operations in the registration tier may be 

approved or denied a permit based on the content of their registration tier application.  

This tier includes vegetative food material composting facilities that process up to 

12,500 CY and chipping and grinding facilities from 200 tons per day to 500 tons per 

day. (CCR 18104.1 and 17854.1)   

 

d) Full Solid Waste Facilities Permit Tier, which requires operators to submit specific 

information in an RFI and pertinent CEQA documents and, for landfills, to include a 

complete closure plan, financial assurance, and operating liability. This tier includes 

composting facilities, green material composting facilities over 12,500 CY, vegetative 

food material composting facilities over 12,500 CY, and chipping and grinding facilities 

over 500 tons per day.  (CCR 21570 and 17854.1) 

e) Authorizes operations located on land that is zoned for agricultural uses that sell or give 

away less than 1,000 CY of compost per year to handle an unlimited amount of 

agricultural material and green material, but authorizes the LEA to limit the amount of 

green material feedstock to 12,500 CY upon making a written finding that handling the 

excess material may pose a risk to public health and safety or the environment.  

Authorizes operations that sell or give away 1,000 CY or more of compost per year to 

handle an unlimited amount of agricultural material, but may not stockpile more than 

12,500 CY of green material feedstock on the site at any time.  (CCR 17856) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Specifies that the following activities are excluded activities for purposes of CCR 17855:  

a) Composting green material, agricultural material, food material, and vegetative food 

material activities, alone or in combination, if the total amount of feedstock and compost 

onsite at any one time does not exceed 500 CY.  

b) The composting is of agricultural materials and residues that are from a large-scale 

biomass event, such as removing a whole orchard or vineyard, at an agricultural facility 

that does not otherwise operate as a solid waste facility.  Materials or residues from a 

large-scale biomass management event do not include whole or partial animal carcasses 

or animal byproducts other than manure.  

i) Allows the composting to include the acquisition and use of agricultural materials, 

agricultural byproduct materials, and agricultural manure from an agricultural site to 

blend with those onsite agricultural materials and residues resulting from the large-

scale biomass event.  

ii) Requires specified recordkeeping.   
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iii) Allows for is exclusion to be used not more than once every 10 years for a period not 

to exceed 24 months.   

2) Specifies that the composting activities excluded from regulation by the bill are obligated to 

obtain all permits, licenses, or other clearances that may be required by other regulatory 

agencies.   

3) Authorizes a composting operation to give away or sell up to 5,000 CY of compost product 

annually, as specified.  Authorizes CalRecycle to increase, by regulation, the amount of 

material a composting operation may give away or sell.   

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Appropriates committee:   

 

 Ongoing costs in the hundreds of thousands of dollars annually for CalRecycle (Integrated 

Waste Management Account) to develop compostable material regulation, prepare 

rulemaking documents, provide ongoing assistance to stakeholders, and implement review of 

permitting and inspection reports. 

 

 Unknown, potentially significant costs for the State Water Resources Control Board 

(SWRCB) and other state agencies as a result of additional composting operations as allowed 

under the provisions of this bill. 

COMMENTS:    

1) Organic waste recycling.  Nearly 40 million tons of waste are disposed of in California's 

landfills annually.  Nearly half of those materials are organics (~48%).  Organic waste 

includes food, yard, paper, and other organic materials. As that material decomposes in 

landfills, it generates significant amounts of methane, a potent greenhouse gas (GHG) with 

84 times the climate impact as carbon dioxide.  ARB states that about 20% of methane 

emissions in California comes from landfills.    

 

SB 1383 (Lara), Chapter 395, Statutes of 2016, requires ARB to approve and implement a 

comprehensive SLCP strategy to achieve, from 2013 levels, a 40% reduction in methane, a 

40% reduction in hydrofluorocarbon gases, and a 50% reduction in anthropogenic black 

carbon, by 2030.  In order to accomplish these goals, the law specifies that the methane 

emission reduction goals include targets to reduce the landfill disposal of organic waste, 

including food, 50% by 2020 and 75% by 2025 from the 2014 level.  SB 1383 also requires 

that 20% of edible food that would otherwise be sent to landfills is redirected to feed people 

by 2025.   

 

To achieve this, California’s waste management infrastructure is going to have to process and 

recycle much greater quantities of organic materials, involving significant investments in 

additional processing infrastructure.  Organic waste is primarily recycled by composting the 

material, which generates compost that can be used in gardening and agriculture as a soil 

amendment and engineering purposes for things like slope stabilization.  Composting 

operations in California range from large-scale commercial operations to onsite agricultural 

composting activities to backyards.  One important component of California’s organics 

management system is community composters.  According to the California Alliance for 

Community Composting, community composting is any organics recovery program for 
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public benefit and/or for locally-distributed benefits that process locally-generated organic 

materials, including green materials, agricultural materials, food materials, and vegetative 

food materials, on a small-scale within the same community where these materials are 

generated, and which operates to achieve community, social, economic, and environmental 

well-being and without compounding local or systemic environmental & social justice issues.  

Anaerobic digestion is also widely used to recycle organic wastes.  This technology uses 

bacteria to break down the material in the absence of oxygen and produces biogas, which can 

be used as fuel, and digestate, which can also be used as a soil amendment.  Tree trimmings 

and prunings can also be chipped or mulched and applied to agricultural land for beneficial 

use, known as land application.   

2) SWRCB general order.  In 2020, SWRCB adopted General Waste Discharge Requirements 

For Commercial Composting Operations State Water Resources Control Board Order WQ 

2020-0012-DWQ (General Order), which includes requirements to protect water quality from 

composting activities while streamlining the permitting process.  The General Order 

classifies compost facilities into two tiers, depending on the feedstock, quantities of 

materials, and hydrogeologic site conditions.  The requirements include lined detention 

basins, surfaces with low permeability in the areas where composting occurs, and berms and 

ditches designed to prevent water from running on or off the site for facilities accepting food 

waste or processing over 25,000 CY at any given time. Regional water boards may require 

other criteria for compost operations if warranted.  The General Order applies to compost 

facilities that receive, process, and store at least 500 CY of material at any given time.  

3) Burn ban.  Until this year, organic material from a large biomass event, such as clearing a 

vineyard, was likely to be burned in an open pile.  Since the passage of SB 705 (Florez), 

Chapter 481, Statutes of 2003, the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District has been 

required to phase out agricultural burning.  Originally required by 2010, the air district was 

allowed to postpone the ban based on specified criteria, which it did in 2005, 2007, 2010, 

2012, 2015, and 2024, when the last postponement ended.     

 

The material that is no longer allowed to be burned will need alternative management 

options. The scale of material is significant: according to the Almond Board, an estimated 

71,000 acres of orchards will be removed by the end of the crop year.  The most 

environmentally sound option is generally composting.  Composting agricultural waste has 

fewer emissions than open-pile burning, and compost is also one of the highest and best uses 

for recycling organic material.   However, composting, especially large-scale composting, 

does have environmental impacts, including emissions of air pollutants, odors, and the 

potential for leaching into the groundwater.  The potential impacts increase dramatically if 

compost facilities are not operated properly.  In addition to making large-scale composting of 

agricultural material an excluded activity in CalRecycle's regulatory tiers, SB 279 also allows 

off-site material, including manure, to be brought onto farms to mix with the material from a 

"large-scale biomass management event" like removing an orchard.  Mixing in other 

agricultural materials can be necessary to create healthy and robust compost.  However, 

because there is no size constraint on the amount of material from a large-scale biomass 

event that can be composted, there is also no constraint on the amount of agricultural material 

that could be brought in to blend with that material.  This means that large quantities of 

manure, which can have health and nuisance smell impacts on nearby communities, could be 

brought into areas and still be considered an excluded activity under the bill.   
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4) Enforcement challenges.  The infrastructure needed to implement the requirements of SB 

1383 has not kept pace with the increased materials that need to be recycled.  This is, in part, 

due to the costs and timelines associated with facility siting and construction.  As a result, 

some parts of the state are facing increased illegal disposal.  According to the Los Angeles 

Times, more than 80 unpermitted sites in the Antelope Valley appear to be accepting some 

forms of organic waste for “land application;” however, the materials contain significant 

amounts of solid waste, including plastics.  In some cases, the property owners are the 

victims of illegal dumping by third parties; in others, landowners are charging to accept 

illegally disposed material.  At least one site is located in sensitive Joshua Tree habitat.  

News reports state that some of these sites cover hundreds of acres and are dozens of feet 

deep. Residents in the area complain of toxic odors and worry about fire risk.   

 

In response to the deluge of illegal dumping activity, CalRecycle adopted emergency 

regulations in February of this year.  The regulations define land application activities as “the 

final deposition of compostable material and/or digestate spread on a parcel of land that meet 

the conditions for physical contamination, metals concentrations, pathogen levels, application 

frequency and depth, and includes the act of incorporating the material into the soil.”  The 

regulations incorporate land application activities into CalRecycle’s compost facility tiers 

and subject them to the appropriate operator filing requirements, state minimum standards, 

record keeping, and LEA inspection requirements to ensure that LEAs are able to 

appropriately regulate and enforce these activities.   

 

While this bill is focused on composting operations rather than land application activities, 

increasing the size and number of operations that will be excluded from CalRecycle 

regulatory oversight may make it more challenging for CalRecycle and LEAs to ensure that 

these facilities are operated properly.   

5) Author’s statement:  

Now that California has banned nearly all burning of agricultural waste, the 

state’s farmers and winegrape growers need assistance in dealing with large 

amounts of organic material. Currently, farms and vineyards ship large amounts 

of agricultural waste to offsite composting facilities, often hundreds of miles 

away, rather than composting the green waste themselves onsite in a sustainable 

way. SB 279 will help farmers and winegrape growers by allowing them to 

compost agricultural waste onsite when they have a large biomass removal event, 

like the removal or an orchard or vineyard. It will also benefit community 

composters, urban farms and school farms by allowing them to compost larger 

amounts of green waste and food scraps onsite. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

 

Support 

Climate Health Now Action Fund 

Climate Reality Project - Silicon Valley Chapter 

Community Alliance With Family Farmers 

Courage California 

Democrats of Rossmoor 

Ecology Center 
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Elders Climate Action NorCal Chapter 

Elders Climate Action SoCal Chapter 

Endangered Habitats League 

Friends Committee on Legislation of California 

Garden School Foundation 

Glendale Environmental Coalition 

Green Policy Initiative 

Living Classroom 

Los Angeles Waterkeeper 

National Resources Defense Council 

Northern California Recycling Association 

Oakland Recycles 

Pacific Beach Coalition 

People Food and Land Foundation 

People, Food and Land Foundation 

Plastic Pollution Coalition 

Regen Monterey 

Salinas Valley Solid Waste Authority 

San Francisco Baykeeper 

Santa Cruz Climate Action Network 

Save Our Shores 

Save the Albatross Coalition 

See (social Eco Education) 

Sierra Club California 

Sierra Harvest 

SoCal 350 Climate Action 

Solana Center for Environmental Innovation 

StopWaste 

Sustainable Rossmoor 

The Climate Center 

The Climate Reality Project Los Angeles Chapter 

The Climate Reality Project Orange County Chapter 

The Last Plastic Straw 

U.S. Green Building Council, California 

Ventura County Farm to School 

Western Growers Association 

Western Tree Nut Association 

Wildcoast 

Wine Institute 

Zero Waste Marin 

Zero Waste San Diego 

Zero Waste Sonoma 

Opposition 

California Compost Coalition  

SWANA California Chapters Legislative Task Force 

Analysis Prepared by: Elizabeth MacMillan / NAT. RES. / 
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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025  

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 326 (Becker) – As Amended July 1, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:  39-0  

SUBJECT:  Wildfire safety: fire protection building standards: defensible space requirements: 

The California Wildfire Mitigation Strategic Planning Act 

SUMMARY: Requires the deputy director of Community Wildfire Preparedness within the 

Department of Forestry and Fire Protection (CAL FIRE) to prepare a Wildfire Risk Mitigation 

Planning Framework (Framework), a Wildfire Risk Baseline and Forecast (Forecast), and a 

Wildfire Mitigation Scenarios Report (Report). Requires, contingent upon an appropriation, CAL 

FIRE to provide local assistance to local governments to achieve wildfire risk reduction 

consistent with the aforementioned plans, for defensible space inspections, and to facilitate 

compliance with forthcoming ember-resistant zone (known as zone o) regulations.   

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Establishes the State Fire Marshal (SFM) as an entity within CAL FIRE to foster, promote, 

and develop ways and means of protecting life and property against fire and panic. (Health & 

Safety Code (HSC) 13100 – 13100.1) 

2) Requires the SFM, by regulation, to designate fire hazard severity zones (FHSZs) and assign 

to each zone a rating reflecting the degree of severity of fire hazard that is expected to prevail 

in the zone. Provides that no designation of a zone and assignment of a rating shall be 

adopted by the SFM until the proposed regulation has been transmitted to the board of 

supervisors of the county in which the zone is located at least 45 days before the adoption of 

the proposed regulation and a public hearing has been held in that county during that 45-day 

period. (Public Resources Code (PRC) 4203) 

3) Establishes the Board of Forestry and Fire Protection (Board) to determine, establish, and 

maintain an adequate forest policy for the state, and protect all wildland forest resources in 

California that are not under federal jurisdiction. (PRC 740) 

 

4) Defines the state responsibility area (SRA) as areas of the state in which the financial 

responsibility of preventing and suppressing fires has been determined by the Board to be 

primarily the responsibility of the state. (PRC 4102) 

5) Requires the Board to adopt regulations implementing minimum fire safety standards related 

to defensible space that are applicable to SRA lands under the authority of CAL FIRE, and to 

lands classified and designated as very high fire hazard severity zones (VHFHSZs). (PRC 

4290) 

6) Requires a person who owns, leases, controls, operates, or maintains a building or structure 

in, upon, or adjoining a mountainous area, forest-covered lands, shrub-covered lands, grass-

covered lands, or land that is covered with flammable material, to at all times maintain a 
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defensible space of 100 feet from each side and from the front and rear of the structure, as 

provided. (PRC 4291.5) 

 

7) Requires a person who owns, leases, controls, operates, or maintains an occupied dwelling or 

occupied structure in, upon, or adjoining a mountainous area, forest-covered land, shrub-

covered land, grass-covered land, or land that is covered with flammable material, which area 

or land is within a VHFHSZ designated by the local agency to, at all times, maintain a 

defensible space of 100 feet from each side and from the front and rear of the structure, as 

provided. Requires the Board to adopt regulations for an ember-resistant zone for the 

elimination of materials that would likely be ignited by embers. (Government Code (GC) 

51182) 

8) Requires the SFM to identify areas in the state as moderate, high, and very high FHSZs based 

on consistent statewide criteria and based on the severity of fire hazard that is expected to 

prevail in those areas. Requires FHSZs to be based on fuel loading, slope, fire weather, and 

other relevant factors including areas where winds have been identified by the Office of the 

SFM as a major cause of wildfire spread. (GC 51178) 

9) Requires an ember-resistant zone to be required within five feet of a structure, known as zone 

0, based on regulations promulgated by the Board, in consultation with CAL FIRE, to 

consider the elimination of materials in the ember-resistant zone that would likely be ignited 

by embers. (PRC 4291 (a)(1)(A)) 

10) Prohibits the ember-resistant zone pursuant from taking effect for new structures until the 

Board updates the regulations and the corresponding guidance document. (PRC 4291 (g)(1)) 

11) Requires the SFM, in consultation with CAL FIRE and the Director of Housing and 

Community Development, to propose fire protection building standards for roofs, exterior 

walls, structure projections, such as porches, decks, balconies, and eaves, and structure 

openings, including, but not limited to, attic and eave vents and windows of buildings in 

FHSZs designated by the SFM. Provides that adopted building standards also apply to 

buildings located in urban wildland interface communities (Health and Safety Code 13108.5) 

12) Requires CAL FIRE to establish a local assistance grant program for fire prevention and 

home hardening education activities in California to establish a robust year-round fire 

prevention effort in and near fire-threatened communities that focuses on increasing the 

protection of people, structures, and communities. Specifies eligible grant-funded activities. 

(PRC 4124.5)  

13) Requires, on and after July 1, 2021, a seller of a real property that is located in a high or 

VHFHSZ in the SRA and local responsibility areas (LRA), to provide to the buyer 

documentation stating that the property is in compliance with defensible space requirements. 

(Civil Code 1102.19)  

14) Requires each electrical corporation to annually prepare and submit a wildfire mitigation plan 

(WMP) to the Wildfire Safety Division for review and approval. Defines 23 variables a 

WMP is required to contain, including a description of the preventive strategies and 

programs to be adopted by the electrical corporation to minimize the risk of its electrical 

lines and equipment causing catastrophic wildfires, including consideration of dynamic 

climate change risks. (Public Utilities Code 8386)  
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THIS BILL:    

1) Establishes the California Wildfire Mitigation Strategic Planning Act. 

2) Defines the following terms:  

a) “Deputy director” means the deputy director of Community Wildfire Preparedness and 

Mitigation within the Office of SFM; 

b) “Risk to spend efficiency” means the net present value of monetized reduction in wildfire 

consequences per dollar of risk mitigation expenditure; 

c) “State hazard mitigation officer” as the person designated by the Director of the Office of 

Emergency Services to serve as the primary point of contact with the Federal Emergency 

Management Agency, other federal agencies, and local governments in mitigation 

planning and implementation of mitigation programs and activities required under 

Chapter 68 of Title 42 of the United State Code; and,  

d) “Wildfire risk mitigation action” means an action undertaken by a private or public actor 

with the stated purpose of reducing either the chances of a wildfire ignition or the 

consequences of a wildfire ignition after one occurs, excluding fire suppression activities. 

3) Requires, on or before January 1, 2027, and every three years thereafter, the deputy director, 

in consultation with the state hazard mitigation officer, to prepare a Framework sufficient to 

quantitatively evaluate wildfire risk mitigation actions as determined by the deputy director. 

4) Requires the Framework to be updated in conjunction with the Forecast. 

5) Requires the Framework to allow for geospatial evaluation and comparison of wildfire risk 

mitigation actions sufficient to direct coordinated mitigation efforts and long-term 

collaborative mitigation planning. 

6) Authorizes the Framework to incorporate, for each wildfire mitigation action, including near-

term and long-term estimates and projections, as determined to be appropriate by the deputy 

director, all of the following: 

a) The entity or entities responsible for the wildfire risk mitigation action; 

b) Risk events and consequences targeted, including cost and other appropriate metrics of 

unmitigated damages; 

c) Cost of the wildfire risk mitigation action; 

d) Methodologies for evaluating, and estimates of risk to spend efficiency and cost-

effectiveness of, the wildfire risk mitigation action; 

e) Geographic areas to which the wildfire risk mitigation action applies; 

f) Interactions, cobenefits, and joint impacts with other wildfire risk mitigation activities; 
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g) Interactions and joint impacts with climate change, drought, past wildfires, and other 

environmental factors and environmental metrics, as appropriate; 

h) Effects on stakeholders and other affected parties; 

i) Personnel requirements to effectuate the wildfire risk mitigation action; and,  

j) Other factors as determined to be appropriate by the deputy director. 

7) Requires the deputy director to make the Framework available as a planning tool for all 

entities included in the Report. 

8) Requires the deputy director, each year the Framework is completed, to submit a copy of the 

Framework to the Legislature, the Office of Energy Infrastructure Safety (OEIS), and the 

Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) for review and consideration. 

9) Requires the deputy director, to the maximum extent possible, to make the factual and 

analytical basis for the Framework available to the public on its internet website. 

10) Requires, on or before April 1, 2027, and every three years thereafter, the deputy director, in 

consultation with the state hazard mitigation officer, to prepare a Baseline and Forecast for 

the State of California delineated on a statewide level and by county, and to include 

geographic specificity as determined by the deputy director to be sufficient to evaluate 

targeted wildfire risk mitigation actions. 

11) Requires the Forecast to be prepared in coordination with the wildfire mitigation plan. 

12) Requires the Forecast to accomplish all of the following: 

a) Contain, at a minimum, estimates of current ignition risk and an evaluation of the 

consequences of potential ignitions to human life and safety, structures and critical 

infrastructure, cultural and historic resources, public health, ecosystems and ecosystem 

services, and any other material consequences as determined by the deputy director; 

b) Establish key risk metrics for wildfire risk for the state as a whole, by county, and by 

geographic location; 

c) Establish reasonable levels of unmitigated planned risk for the state to assume and 

manage through fire suppression; 

d) Include an estimated wildfire risk and consequence, in 1-year, 3-year, and 10-year 

projections, assuming implementation and extension of current wildfire risk mitigation 

actions; 

e) Include targets for wildfire risk reduction for the State of California in 1, 3, and 10 years; 

and, 

f) Beginning January 1, 2030, evaluate current wildfire risk relative to targets in the most 

recent prior Forecast. 
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13) Authroizes the Forecast to take into account the contribution to wildfire risk and consequence 

created by all of the following factors: 

a) Weather; 

b) Fuel type and fuel loading; 

c) Historic fire regimes and changing fire patterns; 

d) Climate change; 

e) Human population and population density; 

f) Development patterns; 

g) Electric infrastructure; and,  

h) Other factors as determined to be relevant by the deputy director. 

14) Requires the deputy director to provide recommendations in the Report on how to achieve 

better coordination, risk to spend efficiency, and overall cost-effectiveness, in specific 

regions and statewide, between utility-related wildfire mitigation investments made pursuant 

to a wildfire mitigation plan and nonutility wildfire mitigation investments. 

15) Requires the deputy director, each year the Forecast is completed, to submit a copy of the 

Forecast to the Legislature, the OIES, and the CPUC for review and consideration. 

16) Requires, to the maximum extent practicable, the deputy director to make available to the 

public on its internet website the factual and analytical bases for the wildfire risk and 

consequence estimates included in the Forecast. 

17) Requires, on or before August 1, 2027, the deputy director, in consultation with the state 

hazard mitigation officer, to prepare a Wildfire Mitigation Scenarios Report, to be updated 

annually. 

18) Requires the Report to contain all of the following information: 

a) Identification of a reasonable range of possible scenarios for overall wildfire risk 

mitigation spending over the next one-year and three-year periods; 

b) Planned and likely statewide wildfire risk mitigation actions by all of the following 

entities: 

i) State agencies; 

ii) Federal agencies; 

iii) Electric utilities; 

iv) Municipalities and local governments; 
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v) Nongovernmental organizations and private actors seeking state funding; and, 

vi) Other stakeholders as determined appropriate by the deputy director. 

c) A quantification of the overall risk reduction achieved via implementation of all planned 

and potential wildfire risk mitigation actions relative to the baseline level of unmitigated 

risk contained in the most recent Forecast; 

d) A quantification of the risk-spend efficiency of all planned wildfire risk mitigation 

actions using the Framework. 

e) Using the Framework, identification and description, in detail, of one or more cost-

effective statewide wildfire risk reduction strategies that are approximately equal in cost 

to planned spending by all entities identified in the Report and that achieve maximum 

estimated reduction in overall wildfire risk and consequence for the State of California; 

and,  

f) Recommendations on how to achieve better coordination, risk to spend efficiency, and 

overall cost-effectiveness, in specific regions and statewide, between utility-related 

wildfire mitigation investments made pursuant to a wildfire mitigation plan and nonutility 

wildfire mitigation investments. 

19) Requires the deputy director, each year upon its completion, to submit a copy of the Report 

to the Legislature, and to the CPUC, for review and consideration. 

 

20) Requires, to the maximum extent practicable, the deputy director to make available to the 

public on its internet website the factual and analytical bases for the Report. 

 

21) Authorizes the deputy director to contract with a private consultant or a public university 

with special expertise in the quantitative assessment of wildfire risk and risk mitigation to 

conduct quantitative wildfire and community risk modeling and for preparation of the 

reports. 

 

22) Requires, contingent upon an annual appropriation by the Legislature in the annual Budget 

Act for the purposes of the Framework, Forecast, and Report, beginning in the 2029–30 

fiscal year and extending to the 2044-45 fiscal year, inclusive, CAL FIRE to allocate funds 

for programs to be implemented by local governments to achieve wildfire risk reduction in a 

cost-effective manner that is maximally consistent with the Framework. 

 

23) Authorizes, for fiscal years 2025–2026 to 2028–2029, inclusive, a local agency to submit an 

application to the deputy director to fund wildfire inspector positions sufficient to conduct 

inspections in VHFHSZs. As a condition of receiving funds, requires a local agency to adopt, 

by an ordinance that is applicable to existing structures in VHFHSZs, the zone 0 regulations.  

 

24) Requires, as a condition of receiving funding, the local agency to adopt, by ordinance, a civil 

fine authority for violations of defensible space regulations, including zone 0 regulations 

applicable to very high FHSZs. 
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25) Limits funds to those that are necessary to fund incremental inspector positions at the fully 

burdened rate plus any vehicles, uniforms, technological resources, and other equipment 

necessary to carry out inspections. 

 

26) Prohibits funding from covering administrative costs, personnel, or equipment to perform 

activities beyond parcel inspections. 

 

27) Requires a local agency receiving funding to submit an annual report to deputy director that 

includes all of the following information: 

 

a) The baseline number of inspections conducted in the prior fiscal year in VHFHSZs; 

 

b) The number of additional inspections conducted within VHFHSZs during the prior fiscal 

year; 

 

c) The number of unique parcels inspected during the prior fiscal year; 

 

d) The number of inspected homes that are fully compliant with defensible space 

regulations, including zone 0 regulations, by the end of the prior fiscal year; and, 

 

e) The number of homes and disposition of homes inspected but not compliant by the end of 

the prior fiscal year. 

 

28) Requires the deputy director to post all reports on the internet website of the SFM within six 

months of the end of each fiscal year. 

 

29) Requires the deputy director to prepare a report evaluating the data collected from local 

agencies, which shall include an examination of the best performing local agencies for each 

year, and shall post this Report on the internet website of the OSFM within six months of the 

end of each fiscal year. 

 

30) In addition to funds for wildfire inspectors, a local agency that complies may request 

additional funds to provide grants to homeowners to assist with costs associated with early 

compliance with zone 0 regulations within VHFHSZs subject to the discretion of the deputy 

director. 

 

31) Requires, if there are additional funds available from the appropriation, those funds to be 

used to improve community safety, forest health, and wildfire resilience.  

 

32) Requires, contingent upon an appropriation by the Legislature, in the annual Budget Act, 

beginning in the 2025–26 fiscal year and extending to the 2028–29 fiscal year, inclusive, 

CAL FIRE to allocate funds to facilitate early implementation of zone 0 regulations for 

existing commercial and residential structures, and for other allowable purposes. 

 

33) Requires the SFM to propose to extend the applicability of the building standards adopted 

pursuant to this section to all reconstruction of all buildings destroyed within the perimeters 

of a wildfire that occurs on and after July 1, 2026. 

 

34) Expands the eligible activities under CAL FIRE’s local assistance grant program to include: 
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a) Projects to plan and carry out risk-targeted wildfire prevention work within a local 

government’s jurisdiction. Provides that costs for these projects may include the 

following: 

 

i) Costs necessary to use the risk targeting Framework once available, to select, plan, 

and implement projects for both of the following purposes: 

 

(1) Maximum cost-effective wildfire risk reduction value within and near to 

communities. 

 

(2) Maximum cost-effective wildfire risk reduction value to wildlands within the 

state. 

 

ii) Implementation of activities consistent with early zone 0 implementation for fiscal 

years 2025–2026 to 2028–2029, inclusive. 

 

35) Requires the application of the ember-resistant zone regulation to take effect as follows: 

 

a) For an existing structure not used as a rental property, the requirement for an ember-

resistant zone applies either upon the sale of that structure or three years after the 

regulatory effective date for a new structure, whichever comes first. 

 

b) For an existing structure that is used as a rental property, the requirement for an ember-

resistant zone applies on the same date as the effective date for a new structure. 

 

36) Provides that no reimbursement is required by this bill pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIII B 

of the California Constitution. 

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown 

COMMENTS:   

1) Author’s statement: 

Preventing catastrophic wildfire requires strong coordination between all of our 

investments, Building on current efforts, this bill would create a planning 

structure to maximize the effectiveness of California's work to reduce the impacts 

of wildfire. As California spends more to prevent catastrophic wildfire, we should 

also make sure that these investments go as far as possible in keeping residents 

safe. This bill creates a planning structure that does just that and ensures that all 

our efforts are well coordinated. 

2) Wildfire prevention. Wildfires have been growing in size, duration, and destructivity over 

the past 20 years. Over just the last two years, more than 17,000 fires consumed nearly 7 

million acres of California – an area the size of the state of Massachusetts. These fires 

decimated mountain communities including Grizzly Flats, Greenville, and Berry Creek and 

forced more than a quarter of a million people to evacuate. These figures do not include the 
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recent destruction of the Palisades and Eaton Fires in Los Angeles, which burned an area 

nearly the size of Washington, D.C.  

3) Wildfire risk mitigation. In 2019, the Legislature enacted SB 209 (Dodd), Chapter 405, 

Statutes of 2019, to establish the state’s Wildfire Forecast and Threat Intelligence Integration 

Center (Center), which requires Office of Emergency Services and CAL FIRE to jointly 

establish a first-of-its-kind center focused on wildfire forecasting; wildfire risk, hazard, and 

threat assessments; fire weather and fire behavior; and, intelligence gathering, analysis, and 

dissemination. The Center began operations on July 1, 2022, and is developing a statewide 

Wildfire Forecast and threat intelligence strategy to improve how wildfire threats are 

identical, understood, and shared in order to reduce threats to residents, businesses, and 

governments.  

AB 9 (Wood), Chapter 225, Statutes of 2021, created the Community Wildfire Preparedness 

and Mitigation Division within the OSFM. The deputy director is responsible for fire 

preparedness and mitigation missions of CAL FIRE, including oversight of the Fire 

Prevention Grants Program, defensible space requirements, the California wildfire mitigation 

financial assistance program, the establishment of fire hazard severity zones, consultation 

with the OEIS regarding wildfire mitigation plans, general plan safety element review, 

wildland building code standards, and implementation of the minimum fire safety standards. 

To further wildfire risk reduction strategies, this bill requires the deputy director to prepare 

three coordinated efforts:  

1) A Wildfire Risk Mitigation Planning Framework sufficient to quantitatively evaluate 

wildfire risk mitigation actions. It will be required to allow for geospatial evaluation and 

comparison of wildfire risk mitigation actions sufficient to direct coordinated mitigation 

efforts and long-term collaborative mitigation planning.  

2) A Wildfire Risk Baseline and Forecast for the state that delineates on a statewide level 

and by county, and include geographic specificity to sufficiently evaluate targeted 

wildfire risk mitigation actions. The Forecast will contain, at a minimum, estimates of 

current ignition risk and an evaluation of the consequences of potential ignitions to 

human life and safety, structures and critical infrastructure, cultural and historic 

resources, public health, ecosystems and ecosystem services, and any other material 

consequences, among other things.  

3) A Wildfire Mitigation Scenarios Report to identify a reasonable range of possible 

scenarios for overall wildfire risk mitigation spending over the next one-year and three-

year periods, quantify the overall risk reduction achieved via implementation of all 

planned and potential wildfire risk mitigation actions relative to the baseline level of 

unmitigated risk contained in the most recent Forecast, and quantify the risk-spend 

efficiency of all planned wildfire risk mitigation actions using the Framework.  

The Los Angeles County Fire Department writes that SB 326 aligns with the County’s 

wildfire prevention initiatives, promoting a coordinated approach to risk mitigation and 

states, “establishing clear expectations for risk assessment and mitigation planning will 

maximize the impact of statewide investments in wildfire preparedness.” 
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4) Wildfire Mitigation Plans. Electrical infrastructure is a common ignition point for wildfires. 

Other common sources of ignition include arson, campfires, equipment use, lightning, and 

vehicles. While high winds can blow vegetation into utility lines from far distances, 

removing vegetation in contact with utility lines has been found effective in reducing fire 

starts. A dozen fires that ripped through Northern California in October 2017 were sparked 

by downed power lines owned by PG&E, according to CAL FIRE. The fires burned across 

Napa, Sonoma, Humboldt, Butte, and Mendocino counties and killed 19 people. A year later, 

the Camp Fire was sparked in Butte County by faulty electrical equipment operated by 

PG&E. The fire decimated several communities, including the town of Paradise. In total, 85 

people died in the fire, making it the deadliest blaze in the state’s history. In 2019, 10% of 

wildfires and 65% of acres burned were caused by electrical equipment. In 2021, the Dixie 

Fire ignited after a Douglas fir tree fell and struck energized conductors owned and operated 

by PG&E. 

Electric utilities are required to implement WMPs assessing their level of wildfire risk and 

providing plans for wildfire risk reduction. The six investor owned utilities currently employ 

an enhanced sensor technology that can sense a disturbance on an energized distribution line 

and turn the circuit off. If an object makes contact with an energized line, such as a tree that 

falls on a line as a result of high winds, or an animal chews through the line, the sensor trips 

the line off. 

Pacific Forest Trust notes that while recent years have brought substantial investments in fire 

mitigation, there has not been systematic coordination between state and federal government, 

electric utilities, and other parties.  

 

More recently, the California Wildfire and Forest Resilience Task Force, a multi-agency 

effort to identify needs and develop strategies to better manage wildfires, has produced plans 

to better manage wildfire risk. Wildfire prevention funding is derived from multiple sources. 

At the state level, Investor Owned Utilities (IOUs) spend more than $10 billion per year. The 

state is investing around $2.7 billion over five years, plus $200 million Greenhouse Gas 

Reduction Fund annually. Additionally, the U.S. Forest Service is spending approximately 

$930 million towards these efforts. In other words, IOUs are annually spending nearly 10 

times the combined state and federal expenditures. No framework exists to evaluate how 

these multiple wildfire prevention programs interact and can best be coordinated to maximize 

their success and cost-effectiveness for wildfire risk reduction. 

 

This bill requires the deputy director, in consultation with the state hazard mitigation officer, 

to prepare the Forecast in coordination with WMPs and local hazard mitigation plans. 

Further, the bill requires the deputy director to provide recommendations in the Report on 

how to achieve better coordination, risk to spend efficiency, and overall cost-effectiveness, in 

specific regions and statewide, between utility-related wildfire mitigation investments made 

pursuant to a WMP and nonutility wildfire mitigation investments. 

 

5) Fire Hazard Severity Zones. FHSZs are categorized as moderate, high, and very high based 

on consistent statewide criteria and based on the severity of fire hazard that is expected to 

prevail in those areas. FHSZ maps evaluate “hazard” based on the physical conditions that 

create a likelihood and expected fire behavior over a 30 to 50-year period without 

considering mitigation measures such as home hardening, defensible space, vegetation 

management, or fuel reduction efforts.  
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CAL FIRE mapped the three tiered FHSZs for the SRA and the VHFHSZ for the lands 

managed locally in the LRA, which includes incorporated cities, urban regions, agriculture 

lands, and portions of the desert where the local government is responsible for wildfire 

protection. This is typically provided by city fire departments, fire protection districts, 

counties, and by CAL FIRE under contract. 

SB 63 (Stern), Chapter 382, Statutes of 2021, requires CAL FIRE to adopt of all three FHSZs 

in the LRA. On March 10, CAL FIRE released maps that added thousands of acres of lands 

within FHSZs across 15 Central Valley counties that previously had no acres zoned for fire 

hazard. New maps for Southern California were released March 24. 

 

CAL FIRE uses the same modeling data that are used to map the SRA to develop the FHSZs 

in the LRA. Creating maps is a laborious process that requires scrutinizing detailed data 

across the state, including small pockets of potentially flammable wildlands within cities, and 

then coordinating with hundreds of local jurisdictions for validation of the mapping. 

 

6) Defensible space. The defensible space requirements for all structures within the SRA and 

VHFHSZs in the LRA is 100 feet. CAL FIRE additionally requires the removal of all dead 

plants, grass, and weeds, and the removal of dry leaves and pine needles within 30 feet of a 

structure.  In addition, tree branches must be 10 feet away from a chimney and other trees 

within that same 30 feet surrounding a structure.  

AB 3074 (Friedman), Chapter 259, Statutes of 2020, required the Board to adopt regulations, 

by January 1, 2023, to create an ember-resistant zone (i.e., zone 0). The Board has not yet 

promulgated regulations effectuating that defensible space requirement for an ember resistant 

zone. On February 6, Governor Newsom signed executive order N-18-25 directing the Board 

to adopt the final ember-resistant zone regulations by December 31, 2025.  

AB 38 (Wood), Chapter 391, Statutes of 2019, requires defensible space inspections upon the 

sale of a home in areas designated high and VHFHSZs. The ember-resistant zone regulations 

will be verified under that law once the regulations are in effect.  

This bill would authorize a local agency to apply for funding from CAL FIRE to fund 

wildfire inspections in VHFHSZs, and require, as a condition of receiving funds, the local 

agency to adopt an ordinance applying the ember-resistance regulations in VHFHSZs and 

adopted a civil penalty for noncompliance.  

Local governments are not required to adopt regulations to effectuate defensible space 

requirements locally, though some have. Los Angeles County adopted County Fire Code 

327.1 to require defensible space compliance consistent with PRC 4291.5 and 

authorizes administrative fines, noncompliance fees, and/or possible liens for noncompliant 

parcels. The intent with this bill is to encourage local governments to apply for funding and 

push them to adopt ordinances to enforce the defensible space requirements.  

7) Building standards. Applicable to all new developments located in the SRA and the 

VHFHSZs in LRAs, California’s Building Code Chapter 7A establishes building standards 

for building materials used to resist the intrusion of flames or embers projected by a wildfire. 

It can be applied to new construction or for retrofitting an older home. California’s wildfire 

building code went into effect in 2008 and mandates fire-resistant siding, tempered glass, 

vegetation management, and ignition-resistant roofs, standards for vents, decks, under eves, 
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siding, windows, gutters, vents for attics and crawlspaces designed to resist embers and 

flames. These standards, which are periodically updated, have been shown to work. An 

analysis by the Sacramento Bee showed that approximately 51% of the 350 single-family 

homes built after 2008 in the path of the Camp Fire were undamaged.  By contrast, only 18% 

of the 12,100 homes built prior to 2008 escaped damage. Existing structures are not 

mandated to be retrofitted to the Chapter 7A standard. Property owners and tenants are 

highly encouraged to adopt best management practices to harden a home from wildfire. CAL 

FIRE recently created a low cost retrofit list with a number of home retrofits that can be 

completed at relatively minimal cost. 

This bill requires the SFM, and on or before July 1, 2026, to propose to extend the 

applicability of the home hardening building standards to all reconstruction of all buildings 

destroyed within the perimeters of a wildfire that occurs on or after July 1, 2026. Provided by 

the Standard University Climate & Energy Program, the map below shows the current 

(expanded in 2024/2025) areas where CAL FIRE mapping will require implementation of 

Chapter 7a building standards compared to the area that burned in Altadena during the Eaton 

Fire. Everywhere not in the CAL FIRE VHHSZ in the LRA will not be required to rebuild to 

the Chapter 7a code.  

 

 
 

8) Existing structures. Current law requires the ember-resident zone regulations to take effect 

for existing structures three years after the effective date for the new structures. This bill 

modifies the effective dates for existing structures in the SRA to discern between primary 

residences and rental properties. For an existing structure not used as a rental property, the 

requirement for an ember-resistant zone applies either upon the sale of that structure 

(consistent with AB 38) or three years after the regulatory effective date for a new structure, 

whichever comes first. For an existing structure that is used as a rental property, the 

requirement for an ember-resistant zone applies on the same date as the effective date for a 

new structure.  
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9) Inspections. Current law requires CAL FIRE to maintain a defensible space training 

program for qualified entities (PRC 4291.5). That statute currently only applies to defensible 

space education and outreach in the SRA. It is worth noting the legislature is also currently 

considering SB 514 (Cabaldon) to expand the training program to do inspections and 

outreach in the LRA. The author may wish to coordinate efforts.  

10) CAL FIRE grants. This bill requires CAL FIRE, upon appropriation, to make grant funding 

available to local governments to implement fire reduction efforts consistent with the 

Framework and for conducting zone 0 inspections. CAL FIRE administers an existing local 

assistance grant program for fire prevention and home hardening education activities in 

California to establish a robust year-round fire prevention effort in and near fire-threatened 

communities that focuses on increasing the protection of people, structures, and 

communities. The grant-funded opportunities in this bill could be more efficiently provided 

through that local assistance grant program, or another program at CAL FIRE.  

11) Double referral. This bill was heard in the Assembly Emergency Management Committee 

on June 30 and approved 5-0.  

12) Committee amendments: The Committee may wish to amend the bill to require the 

opportunities for local grants in the bill to be administered through an existing local 

assistance grant program at CAL FIRE.  

13) Related legislation: 

a) AB 1455 (Bryan) clarifies the Board’s authority to adopt regulations to implement 

defensible space requirements for an ember-resistant zone in the LRA and authorizes 

adoption of the regulations for the SRA and LRA as emergency regulations. This bill is 

referred to the Senate Natural Resources & Water Committee.  

b) SB 514 (Cabaldon) deletes the sunset date on the statewide program to allow qualified 

entities to support and augment CAL FIRE in its defensible space and home hardening 

assessment; adds nonprofit entities focused on wildfire resiliency and contractors who 

conduct specified wildfire resiliency activities to the list of qualified entities; and, 

authorizes qualified entities to additionally assess compliance with defensible space 

requirements applicable to LRA. This bill is referred to the Assembly Natural Resources 

Committee. 

c) SB 629 (Durazo) requires the SFM to map areas of the state previous burned by a 

wildfire and requires the application of specified wildfire risk mitigation regulations to 

those mapped areas. This bill is referred to the Assembly Natural Resources Committee. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

California Environmental Voters  

County of Los Angeles Board of Supervisors 

Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of California, INC. 

James Hardie 

League of California Cities 
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Marin Clean Energy  

San Mateo; County of 

USGBC California 

Vibrant Planet, a Public Benefit Corporation 

Opposition 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Paige Brokaw / NAT. RES. /
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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 514 (Cabaldon) – As Amended June 25, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:  not relevant  

SUBJECT:  Wildfire prevention: qualified entities: assessments 

SUMMARY:  Eliminates the sunset date on the statewide program to allow qualified entities to 

support and augment CAL FIRE in its defensible space and home hardening assessment; adds 

nonprofit entities focused on wildfire resiliency and contractors who conduct specified wildfire 

resiliency activities to the list of qualified entities; and, authorizes qualified entities to 

additionally assess compliance with defensible space requirements applicable to local 

responsibility areas (LRA).  

 

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Requires the director of the Department of Forestry and Fire Protection (CAL FIRE) to 

establish a statewide program to allow qualified entities to support and augment CAL FIRE 

in its defensible space and home hardening assessment and education efforts. Requires 

qualified entities to be authorized by the director to conduct defensible space assessments to 

assess compliance within the state responsibility area (SRA), educate property owners about 

wildfire safety improvements that may be undertaken to harden a structure and make it more 

resistant to fire, and assess whether wildfire safety improvements have been completed in or 

on a structure. (Public Resources Code (PRC) 4291.5 (b)) 

 

2) Requires the director to establish a common reporting platform that allows defensible space 

and home hardening assessment data, collected by the qualified entities, to be reported and 

establish any necessary quality control measure to ensure that the assessment data is accurate 

and reliable. (PRC 4291.5 (c)(1)) 

 

3) Requires CAL FIRE to annually report to the Legislature all defensible space data collected. 

The report may include information on the proportion of unique parcels that were inspected, 

the degree of compliance with requirements, any enforcement actions that may have been 

taken for noncompliant parcels, and the proportion of parcels that were found to be in 

compliance across jurisdictions. At minimum, requires the report to include data with 

sufficient detail to facilitate comparisons of community compliance between local 

governmental entities qualified to conduct defensible space assessments pursuant to this 

section and local governmental entities that are not. Sunsets the reporting requirement on 

January 1, 2026. (PRC 4291.5 (h)(1)) 

 

4) Requires CAL FIRE to develop and implement a training program to train individuals to 

support and augment the department in its defensible space and home hardening assessment 

and public education efforts. Sunsets this training program on January 1, 2026. (PRC 4291.6) 

 

5) Requires a person who owns, leases, controls, operates, or maintains an occupied dwelling or 

occupied structure in, upon, or adjoining a mountainous area, forest-covered land, shrub-
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covered land, grass-covered land, or land in the LRA that is covered with flammable 

material, which area or land is within a very high fire hazard severity zone designated by the 

local agency to, at all times, maintain a defensible space of 100 feet from each side and from 

the front and rear of the structure, as provided. (Government Code (GC) 51182) 

 

6) Defines “property owner” as a person who owns, leases, controls, operates, or maintains a 

building or structure in the state responsibility area (PRC 4291) and as a person who owns, 

leases, controls, operates, or maintains an occupied dwelling or occupied structure within a 

very high fire hazard severity zone (FHSZ) designated by the local agency. (GC 51182 (a)) 

THIS BILL:    

1) Expands the definition of “qualified entity” to include nonprofit entities focused on wildfire 

resiliency and contractors who conduct defensible space, homehardening, fuel reduction, 

roadside clearance, and other contracting activities for wildfire reiliency efforts.  

2) Requires the qualified entities participating in the program to be authorized by the director to 

additionally assess compliance with the defensible space requirements in the LRA.  

3) Requires data obtained voluntarily from a property owner to be anonymized and kept 

confidential if requested by the property owner, and prohibits the data from being used for 

compliance or enforcement purposes associated with ordinances that directly relate to 

defensible space and home hardening investigations unless specifically requested by the 

property owner. 

4) Requires CAL FIRE’s annual reporting to the Legislature on defensible space compliance to 

additionally include defensible space compliance in the LRA.  

5) Finds and declares that the amendments to PRC 4291.5 impose a limitation on the public’s 

right of access to the meetings of public bodies or the writings of public officials and 

agencies within the meaning of Section 3 of Article I of the California Constitution. 

6) Eliminates the January 1, 2026, sunset date on CAL FIRE’s defensible space training 

program.  

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown  

COMMENTS:   

1) Author’s statement: 

As California’s wildfire season lengthens, and the number of residential areas 

considered high risk grows, it’s more critical than ever that property owners 

maintain defensible space around their homes. Existing ordinances and 

regulations require them to do so, but research suggests that many do not – either 

because they lack the resources or don’t fully understand the risk that fire poses to 

their property. The state has left defensible space rules largely unenforced with an 

average inspection rate of just 17 percent. Nonetheless, fear of enforcement can 

make homeowners reluctant to seek technical assistance on how to create 

defensible space. SB 514 will help by encouraging property owners to voluntarily 
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comply. The bill lets those who request defensible space inspections keep their 

data confidential and ensures the information won’t be used for enforcement 

against them. It also allows wildlife resiliency non-profits and qualified 

contractors to do inspections. Finally, it removes the sunset from the defensible 

space data reporting platform, which allows the state to gather information about 

compliance, helping California further understand how our homes can be 

protected. 

2) Defensible space. Defensible space is the buffer created between a building on a property 

and the grass, trees, shrubs, or any wildland area that surrounds it. This space is needed to 

slow or stop the spread of wildfire, and it helps protect structures from catching fire. A 2019 

analysis done by CAL FIRE of the relationship between defensible space compliance and 

destruction of structures during the seven largest fires that occurred in California in 2017 and 

2018 concluded that the odds of a structure being destroyed by wildfire were roughly five 

times higher for noncompliant structures compared to compliant ones. The same statistic 

applied to homes in the 2018 Camp Fire and the 2022 Oak fire in Mariposa County.  

Current state law requires the Board of Forestry to establish defensible space requirements 

for structures in the SRA and very high FHSZs in the LRAs in California. (There are 

estimated to be about 768,000 structures in the SRA and roughly 700,000 structures in very 

high FHSZs in the LRA.) Under the existing regulations, homeowners in these areas must 

meet specific requirements on their properties within two zones: (1) certain requirements 

within 100 feet of structures and (2) additional, more stringent requirements within 30 feet of 

structures. These regulations include requirements related to maintenance of live vegetation 

(trees, shrubs, and grasses), clearance of dead vegetation, and the location and storage of 

wood piles and other flammable items near the structures. 

Home owners are responsible for maintaining defensible space around their property. 

According to a 2021 Legislative Analyst’s Office report, researchers have explored – mostly 

using survey data and interviews – some of the barriers homeowners typically face related to 

completing defensible space work, including prohibitive costs and/or time constraints, 

inadequate motivation to comply, and incomplete understanding of the nature of the risk to 

their home.  

3) Statewide training program. In 2023, the Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM) 

established a statewide program to allow qualified entities to support CAL FIRE in its 

defensible space and home hardening assessment and education efforts. Qualified entities 

include the California Conservation Corps, California Volunteers, Resource Conservation 

Districts, Fire Safe Councils, Firewise, University of California Fire Advisors, Registered 

Professional Foresters, and local agencies, and who, once certified, can then provide 

nonregulatory assistance to homeowners to reduce fire risk and achieve compliance with 

defensible space requirements within the SRA. This includes educating property owners 

about wildfire safety improvements that may be undertaken to harden a structure and make it 

more resistant to wildfire and assessing whether wildfire safety improvements have been 

completed on or around a structure. 

A pilot program was established using trained personnel from the El Dorado County Fire 

Safe Council with the first Defensible Space and Home Hardening Assessor course being 

taught in April 2023. The California Conservation Corps hosted a training for its 
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Corpsmembers and staff in in the fall of 2023. As of May 2025, there were 214 trained 

assessors under the program. 

4) This bill. CAL FIRE acknowledges that the training program will create more face-to-face 

interaction and educational opportunities between homeowners and individuals who are 

trained in defensible space and home hardening. By expanding the program to the LRA, this 

bill will have a farther reach to more properties across the state to provide greater wildfire 

resilience.  

Further, SB 514 expands the list of qualified entities to include nonprofits and contractors, 

boosting the workforce that can skillfully inform and educate residents living in more urban 

areas in the LRA.  

The Safe Drinking Water, Wildfire Prevention, Drought Preparedness, and Clean Air Bond 

Act of 2024 (Proposition 4) authorizes $1.5 billion for a variety of activities related to 

wildfire and forest resilience, including $25 million is available to create a Defensible Space 

Financial Assistance Program under CAL FIRE, providing direct financial assistance to 

implement defensible space and best practices.  

Should the bill advance, the author may wish to work with CAL FIRE to appropriately 

clarify jurisdiction over inspections in each responsibility area.  

5) Related legislation: 

a) AB 261 (Quirk Silva) authorizes the SFM to confer with entities and members of the 

public on wildfire safety improvements and other actions that may impact the degree of 

fire hazard in an area or the area’s recommended FHSZ designation, and authorizes the 

SFM to provide a written response to an entity on actions that may impact the degree of 

fire hazard, and would require this written response to be posted on the SFM’s internet 

website. This bill is referred to the Senate Governmental Organization and Natural 

Resources & Water Committees. 

b) AB 1143 (Bennett) requires, on or before January 1, 2027, the SFM’s Wildfire Mitigation 

Advisory Committee to develop a home hardening certification program that identifies 

home hardening measures, including defensible space, that can be implemented during 

renovation or property improvement projects, or both, to substantially reduce the risk of 

loss during a fire and bring existing building stock into alignment with state building 

standards for wildland-urban interface areas. This bill is referred to the Senate 

Governmental Organization and Natural Resources & Water Committees. 

c) AB 1457 (Bryan) requires the CAL FIRE training program to additionally provide 

training consistent with the “Home Ignition Zone/Defensible Space Inspector” course 

plan in order to ensure that individuals are trained to conduct home ignition zone 

inspections. This bill is referred to the Senate Natural Resources & Water Committee. 

d) SB 326 (Becker) requires the deputy director of CAL FIRE to prepare a framework 

sufficient to quantitatively evaluate wildfire risk mitigation actions as determined by the 

deputy director; to prepare a Wildfire Risk Baseline and Forecast delineated on a 

statewide level and by county, and to include geographic specificity as determined by the 
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deputy director to be sufficient to evaluate targeted wildfire risk mitigation actions; and, 

to prepare a Wildfire Mitigation Scenarios Report, to be updated annually. This bill is 

referred to the Assembly Natural Resources Committee. 

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

Napa Communities Firewise Foundation 

Napa County 

Opposition 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Paige Brokaw / NAT. RES. /
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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025  

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 542 (Limón) – As Amended May 23, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:   28-11 

SUBJECT:  Oil spill prevention: administrator for oil spill response: duties 

SUMMARY:  Prohibits the restart of an existing oil pipeline that has not been in use for five or 

more years from being restarted without certain hydrostatic testing in order to reduce the risk of 

an oil spill upon returning to service; requires public notice and comment before a certificate of 

financial responsibility (COFR) is issued; and, requires that the formulas for determining the 

amount of a COFR reviewed every 10 years, among other provisions. 

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Pursuant to the Lempert-Keene-Seastrand Oil Spill Prevention and Response Act: 

a) Requires the administrator for the Office of Spill Prevention and Response (OSPR), 

acting at the direction of the governor, to implement activities relating to oil spill 

response, including emergency drills and preparedness, and oil spill containment and 

cleanup. (Government Code (GC) 8670.1) 

 

b) Bestows the administrator with primary authority to direct prevention, removal, 

abatement, response, containment, and cleanup efforts with regard to all aspects of any 

oil spill in the waters of the state as specified. (GC 8670.6 - 8670.14) 

 

c) Prohibits the following unless the responsible party has received a copy of a COFR 

issued by the administrator: (GC 8670.37.51) 

 

i) A tank vessel or vessel carrying oil as a secondary cargo from being used to transport 

oil across waters of the state; 

 

ii) An operator of a marine terminal within the state from transferring oil to or from a 

tank vessel or vessel carrying oil as a secondary cargo; and,   

 

iii) An operator of a marine terminal within the state from transferring oil to or from any 

vessel that is or is intended to be used for transporting oil as cargo to or from a second 

vessel.  

 

d) Requires an owner or operator of a facility where a spill could impact waters of the state 

to apply for and obtain a COFR issued by the administrator for the facility or the oil to be 

handled, stored, or transported by the facility. (GC 8670.37.51) 

 

2) Pursuant to the Elder California Pipeline Safety Act of 1981: 
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a) Requires the State Fire Marshal (SFM) to exercise safety regulatory jurisdiction over 

intrastate pipelines used for the transportation of hazardous or highly volatile liquid 

substances. (GC 51010) 

 

b) Defines “hydrostatic testing” as the application of internal pressure above the normal or 

maximum operating pressure to a segment of pipeline, under no-flow conditions for a 

fixed period of time, utilizing a liquid test medium. (GC 51010.5) 

 

c) Requires the following testing requirements: (GC 51013.5) 

 

i) Every newly constructed pipeline, existing pipeline, or part of a pipeline system that 

has been relocated or replaced, and every pipeline that transports a hazardous liquid 

substance or highly volatile liquid substance, to be tested in accordance with Subpart 

E of Part 195 of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 

 

ii) Every pipeline not provided with properly sized automatic pressure relief devices or 

properly designed pressure limiting devices to be hydrostatically tested annually; 

 

iii) Every pipeline older than 10 years of age and not provided with effective cathodic 

protection to be hydrostatically tested every three years, except for those on the 

SFM’s list of higher risk pipelines, which shall be hydrostatically tested annually; 

 

iv) Every pipeline older than 10 years of age and provided with effective cathodic 

protection to be hydrostatically tested every five years, except for those on the SFM’s 

list of higher risk pipelines which shall be hydrostatically tested every two years; and,  

v) Piping within a refined products bulk loading facility served by pipeline to be tested 

hydrostatically at 125% of maximum allowable operating pressure using the product 

ordinarily transported in that piping if that piping is operated at a stress level of 20% 

or less of the specified minimum yield strength of the pipe. Requires the frequency 

for pressure testing these pipelines to be every five years for those pipelines with 

effective cathodic protection and every three years for those pipelines without 

effective cathodic protection.  

THIS BILL:    

1) Prohibits, in order to reduce the risk of an oil spill upon returning to service, every existing 

oil pipeline that has not been in use for five or more years to not be restarted without passing 

a spike hydrostatic testing program performed in segments to ensure every elevation point 

will be tested with a minimum test pressure between 100% and 110% of the specific 

minimum yield strength for a 30-minute spike test, immediately followed by a pressure test 

in accordance with Subpart E of Part 195 of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

2) Requires, for an oil pipeline subject to testing pursuant to #1 above, there to be a public 

notice and comment process before the administrator issues a COFR. 

3) Requires, commencing January 15, 2026, and at least once every 10 years thereafter, the 

administrator to review and revise the formulas for calculating reasonable worst-case spills 
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and the financial assurances necessary to respond to an oil spill to reflect the best available 

information through a notice and comment rulemaking procedure. 

4) Provides that no reimbursement is required by this bill pursuant to the California 

Constitution. 

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, this bill would have 

likely significant ongoing costs (special fund) for OSPR to implement the hydrostatic testing 

requirements, review and revise formulas for calculating financial assurances, and provide 

notification and a public comment process as specified. 

COMMENTS:   

1) Author’s statement: 

There has been an extensive and unfortunate history of disastrous oil spills along 

the Central and Southern California coasts. Even with technological 

advancements and expansion of spill response capabilities, damaging spills cause 

millions of dollars in damage, severely impact the economies of local 

communities, and kill innumerable animal life. 

 

SB 542 strengthens current statute to help reduce the risk of an oil spill by 

requiring a public process prior to the issuance of a COFR for oil pipelines and 

require, prior to the restart of any pipeline that has not been in use for five or more 

years, a comprehensive hydro test to in addition to any other in-line pipeline tests. 

2) Hydrostatic testing. According to the SFM, California is home to more than 5,600 miles of 

hazardous liquid pipelines that transport crude oil, refined products (e.g., gasoline, diesel, jet 

fuel) and highly volatile liquids around the state from production facilities to refineries and 

ultimately to market. These pipelines operate at high pressures. Should they fail, they would 

pose a threat to the residents of California, property, and the environment. To prevent 

accidents and spills, state and federal regulations require pipeline operators to conduct 

hydrostatic pressure tests to ensure the integrity of their pipelines. 

Under current state law, operators are required to pressure test each hazardous liquid pipeline 

by an independent third-party approved by the SFM at least once every five years, once every 

two years for high risk, and once per year for buried pipelines without cathodic protection. 

Testing results are submitted to the SFM for review and concurrence. Tests are randomly 

witnessed by SFM Pipeline Safety Engineers to verify compliance with the SFM pressure 

testing requirements.  

A pressure test involves pressurizing a pipeline with a test medium (usually water) to a 

pressure more than its Maximum Operating Pressure (MOP). The pipeline successfully 

passes the hydrostatic pressure test if it can withstand that pressure for a set period of time 

(usually 8 hours). A MOP hydrotest determines the proof of fitness for service of a pipeline 

at the time of the test. This test is typically done prior to the start of a pipeline and prior to the 

transmission of any gases or liquids. The regulation overseeing MOP hydrotesting can be 

found in Subpart E of Part 195 of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, which is 

referenced in the language of SB 542. 
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Spike hydrotesting, another pressure test, is meant to find cracking threats or corrosion in a 

pipeline’s walls, welds, seals, or joints by using water testing at higher pressures. A spike 

hydrotest is designed to load pressure on a pipe to between 100% and 110% of the specified 

minimum yield strength (%SMYS) of the pipeline and usually requires pressurized testing 

for 15 minutes to one hour. The SMYS is the minimum amount of stress a pipe can withstand 

before experiencing permanent damage. 

 

The author’s office explains that most pipelines that carry hazardous liquids, including oil, 

are designed to operate at a hoop stress level equal to 72% of SMYS, so pressurizing the 

pipeline to 100 %SMYS through a hydrotest would equal the hoop stress level of 72% of 

SMYS operating pressure, simulating normal transmission of oil. A 110 %SMYS hydrotest 

would equal 80% of SMYS operating pressure. Pushing the pressure to 110 %SMYS would 

elevate the pipeline pressure in exceedance of the normal operating to 80% of SMYS, 

therefore ensuring any corrosion or leaks are easily detected. However, adding additional 

pressure beyond 110 %SMYS would potentially damage the pipeline or make the pipeline 

unusable. 

SB 542 requires, in order to reduce the risk of an oil spill upon returning to service, 

notwithstanding any other law, every existing oil pipeline that has not been in use for five or 

more years are not be restarted without passing a spike hydrostatic testing program with a 

minimum test pressure between 100% and 110% of the SMYS for a 30-minute spike test, 

immediately followed by a pressure test in accordance with federal regulations.  

3) Financial assurances and worst case scenarios. Identifying that the threat of an oil spill is 

never zero, OSPR issues COFRs to facilities, vessels, and pipelines that are required to have 

a California Oil Spill Contingency Plan, following submittal of an application and proof that 

the applicant has the financial resources to cover the cost of response for a “worst-case 

scenario” spill. 

There are numerous methods available to an owner or operator of an oil facility to 

demonstrate financial responsibility including insurance, self-insurance, guaranty, a letter of 

credit, surety bonds, Protection and Indemnity Club membership, a combination of methods, 

or even other methods deemed acceptable to OSPR. In order to maintain a COFR, the 

applicant is required to annually provide evidence of renewed COFR and prior to the 

expiration of the COFR the owner or operator must submit a renewal application.  

 

There is no requirement that the regulations governing worst-case spills be regularly updated, 

and as such, they have not been. The worst-case spill regulation oversees not only oil 

pipelines and oil facilities, but also vessels and marine terminals. The marine facility 

reasonable “worst-case spill” volume calculations were established in regulation in 1993 

using methods aligned with federal worst-case discharge calculations. There were minor 

changes to the offshore platform calculations in 2011 and a minor change to the facility 

persistence multiplier in the early- to mid- 2000s. Inland facility reasonable worst-case spill 

calculation methods were established in 2019 and have not changed. 

 

The last time the maximum amounts for a particular COFR were set in regulation was the 

maximum for Inland Facilities in 2019 at $100 million. Additionally, the maximum for 

marine facilities ($300 million) was set in 1995. The max for non-tank vessels ($300 million) 

was set in 2000, and small tank barges ($1 billion) was set in regulation in 2003. There are 
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statutory maximum amounts for tank and non-tank vessels but there are no statutory 

maximum amounts for pipelines and facilities.  

4) The bill. SB 542 requires, starting January 15, 2026, and at least once every 10 years 

thereafter, the OSPR administrator to review and revise the formulas for calculating 

reasonable worst-case spills and the financial assurances necessary to respond to an oil spill 

to reflect the best available information through a notice and comment rulemaking procedure. 

According to the author, adding a public review period adds transparency to a largely internal 

procedure that determines what a “worst-case scenario” spill from an oil pipeline may be. 

5) Double referral. This bill is also referred to the Assembly Emergency Management 

Committee.  

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

350 Bay Area Action 

350 Santa Barbara 

Azul 

Bixby Residential, INC. 

Business Alliance for Protecting the Pacific 

Coast 

Center for Biological Diversity 

Center on Race, Poverty, & the Environment 

Central Coast Climate Justice Network 

Cleanearth4kids.org 

Climate First: Replacing Oil & Gas  

Climate Hawks Vote 

Clue-SB Environmental Justice Group 

Coastal Band of the Chumash Nation 

Defenders of Wildlife 

Elected Officials to Protect America - Code 

Blue 

Environmental Action Committee of West 

Marin 

Environmental Defense Center 

Food & Water Watch 

Friends Committee on Legislation of 

California 

Get Oil Out! 

International Marine Mammal Project of the 

Earth Island Institute 

Ocean Conservation Research 

Oil and Gas Action Network 

Patagonia 

Quabajai Coastal Chumash Keepers of the 

Western Gate 

S.F. Bay Physicians for Social 

Responsibility 

Sacred Places Institute for Indigenous 

Peoples 

Sandiego350 

Santa Barbara Channelkeeper 

Santa Barbara County Action Network 

Sierra Club California 

Sierra Club Santa Barbara Group 

Socal 350 Climate Action 

Society of Fearless Grandmothers of SB 

Solano County Democratic Central 

Committee 

Stand.earth 

Sunflower Alliance 

The Climate Center 

UCSB As Environmental Affairs Board 

Ventura Coastkeeper 

Wishtoyo Chumash Foundation 

 

Opposition 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Paige Brokaw / NAT. RES. /
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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 613 (Stern) – As Amended June 30, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:  37-0 

SUBJECT:  Methane emissions:  petroleum and natural gas producing low methane emissions 

SUMMARY:  Requires state agencies to prioritize strategies to reduce methane emissions from 

imported petroleum and natural gas and requires the Air Resources Board (ARB) to encourage 

procurement of certified natural gas producing low methane emissions, as specified. 

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Requires ARB to use the best available science to quantify and annually report on its website 

the amount of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions resulting from the loss or release of natural 

gas during all processes associated with the production, processing, and transport of natural 

gas imported into the state from out-of-state sources. (Health & Safety Code (HSC) 39607) 

 

2) Requires ARB to consult with specified entities to gather information for purposes of 

carrying out life-cycle GHG emissions analyses of natural gas imports. 

 

3) Requires the Public Utilities Commission (PUC), in consultation with ARB, to minimize 

natural gas leaks from PUC-regulated gas pipeline facilities, and provide for the development 

of metrics to quantify the volume of emissions from leaking gas pipeline facilities, and to 

evaluate and track leaks geographically and over time. 

 

4) Requires all state agencies to consider and implement strategies to reduce their GHG 

emissions. (HSC 38592) 

 

THIS BILL: 

 

1) Defines “measure, monitor, report, and verify” or “MMRV” as a framework used for the 

systematic measuring of emissions, including the documentation and verification of the 

accuracy of the reported data. 

2) Requires state agencies to prioritize strategies to reduce methane emissions, including 

emissions from imported petroleum and natural gas, where feasible and cost effective. 

 

3) Authorizes ARB, the PUC, and other relevant agencies to apply approved MMRV protocols 

to existing programs to reduce methane emissions, including emissions from imported 

petroleum and natural gas procured by utilities and other large gas users. 

 

4) Requires ARB to encourage natural gas procurement on behalf of the state to shift to certified 

natural gas producing low methane emissions, as verified by MMRV, where feasible, cost 

effective, and in the best interests of ratepayers as determined by the PUC. 
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5) Provides that these requirements shall not be construed to require any new or additional 

petroleum and natural gas utility procurement or to promote the expanded use of petroleum 

and natural gas from fossil resources and is not intended to interfere with state efforts to 

reduce the use of petroleum and natural gas or increase the production and use of renewable 

gas. 

 

6) Makes related findings. 

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, unknown but likely 

significant ongoing costs (Cost of Implementation Account) for ARB to implement the 

provisions of this bill. 

 

COMMENTS:   

1) Background. Methane is the principal component of natural gas. It is also produced 

biologically under anaerobic conditions in ruminant animals and solid waste facilities. 

Methane is termed a Short-Lived Climate Pollutant (SLCP) because it has a much shorter 

lifetime in the atmosphere than carbon dioxide, but has a much higher global warming 

potential. According to the United Nations Environment Programme, methane is more than 

80 times more effective than carbon dioxide in trapping heat in the atmosphere over a 20-

year period. SLCPs, including methane, are responsible for 30-40% of global warming to 

date. 

 

Atmospheric methane concentrations have been increasing as a result of human activities 

related to agriculture, fossil fuel extraction and distribution, and waste generation and 

processing. Methane gas from oil and gas production and distribution is a growing source of 

emissions in many countries, including the United States, due to increased exploration and 

use of natural gas for energy. 

 

Natural gas is primarily methane. It can be burned for energy or used as a chemical 

feedstock. Nearly 45% of the natural gas burned in California is used for electricity 

generation, and much of the remainder is consumed in the residential (21%), industrial 

(25%), and commercial (9%) sectors. California continues to depend on out-of-state imports 

for nearly 90% of its natural gas supply. 

 

Regardless of the end uses, making natural gas ready for use relies on extensive processing 

and transportation. These steps are categorized as either “upstream” (exploration and 

production), “midstream” (processing, compressing, and transporting the gas), or 

“downstream” (distribution to industrial, residential, or commercial customers). 

 

The term “fugitive emissions” is used to refer to unintended emissions at any step in this 

process. Notably, many of these fugitive emissions are not necessarily at the “point of 

production” of the natural gas. Overall, the majority of methane emissions from natural gas 

occur in the mid- and upstream processes. 

 

Identifying and addressing points of methane leakage along the natural gas supply chain is a 

pressing issue. However, identifying fugitive methane emissions is technologically 

challenging. Given the strong warming effects of methane in the atmosphere, minimizing its 

release is important to mitigate climate change. Given the value of supplying natural gas to 
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end users, minimizing its release can benefit suppliers’ bottom line and much of the methane 

emission mitigation work can actually save producers money. The International Energy 

Agency (IEA) has stated that there is a huge opportunity to cut methane emissions from the 

energy sector. The IEA estimates that more than 70% of current emissions from oil and gas 

operations are already technically feasible to prevent, and around 45% could typically be 

avoided at no net cost because the value of the captured gas is higher than the cost of the 

abatement measure. 

 

With natural gas drawing increasing scrutiny for its emissions footprint, the industry has 

responded with a cleaned-up version of its traditional product, known as certified gas. While 

a universally accepted definition has yet to emerge, broadly this term refers to gas that has 

been verified by an independent third party to have been produced in a manner consistent 

with certain environmental, social, and governance standards. Methane emissions are a key 

performance metric for certified gas, with an emphasis on monitoring and measurement. 

 

2) Author’s statement: 

 

California imports about 90% of its natural gas from other states and countries, and 

imports about 50% of our oil from Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Ecuador, Brazil, Guyana, and 

Canada. We are still amongst the largest users of fossil petroleum and fossil gas in the 

whole world. It is important to reduce methane emissions, including emissions from 

imported petroleum and natural gas. This bill will encourage natural gas procurement to 

shift to low-leakage natural gas where feasible, cost effective, and in the best interests of 

ratepayers. State agencies can utilizing existing state reporting and data collection efforts 

such as the world-leading state satellite tracking efforts to reduce emissions and send 

market signals. 

 

3) Double referral. This bill has been double-referred to the Utilities and Energy Committee. 

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

PureWest Energy 

Opposition 

None on file 

 

Analysis Prepared by: Lawrence Lingbloom / NAT. RES. / 
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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 643 (Caballero) – As Amended June 26, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:  37-0 

SUBJECT:  Carbon Dioxide Removal Purchase Program 

SUMMARY:  Establishes the Carbon Dioxide Removal Purchase Program (CDRPP), which is 

intended to advance the development of carbon dioxide removal (CDR) technologies through a 

competitive grant program administered by the Air Resources Board (ARB), subject to future 

appropriation of funds for this purpose. 

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Requires ARB, pursuant to the California Global Warming Solutions Act, to adopt a 

statewide greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions limit equivalent to 1990 levels by 2020 and to 

adopt rules and regulations to achieve maximum technologically feasible and cost-effective 

GHG emission reductions. (Health and Safety Code (HSC) 38500 et seq.) 

 

2) Requires ARB to ensure that statewide GHG emissions are reduced to at least 40% below the 

1990 level by 2030. (HSC 38566) 

 

3) Establishes, pursuant to the California Climate Crisis Act, the policy of the state to achieve 

net zero GHG emissions by 2045, maintain net negative GHG emissions thereafter, and 

ensure that by 2045, statewide anthropogenic GHG emissions are reduced to at least 85% 

below the statewide GHG emissions limit. (HSC 38562.2) 

 

4) Requires ARB to prepare and approve a scoping plan, at least once every five years, for 

achieving the maximum technologically feasible and cost-effective reductions in GHG 

emissions from sources or categories of sources of GHG emissions. (HSC 38561) 

 

5) Requires ARB to establish CDR targets for 2030 and beyond, taking into consideration the 

Natural and Working Lands Climate Smart Strategy, science-based data, cost-effectiveness, 

and technological feasibility. (HSC 39740.2) 

 

6) Requires ARB to establish a Carbon Capture, Removal, Utilization, and Storage Program and 

defines CDR as anthropogenic activities that use technologies or engineered strategies to 

remove carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and put it into long-term storage, including 

direct air capture. (HSC 39741 and 39741.1) 

 

THIS BILL: 

1) Requires ARB establish and administer the CDRPP, a competitive grant process for eligible 

CDR projects, to advance the development of CDR technologies in order to achieve the 

state’s climate goals, while supporting the development of eligible CDR projects that provide 

economic, community, and environmental benefits within the state. 
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2) Requires ARB to do all of the following: 

 

a) Administer the competitive grant program, as specified. 

 

b) On or before January 1, 2028, and annually thereafter, conduct and publish on its internet 

website a survey of CDR projects existing or in development within the state, as 

specified. 

 

c) Conduct at least two public workshops to receive comments from the public. 

 

d) On or before December 31, 2027, and annually thereafter, publish on its internet website 

a report describing program activities completed CDR projects to date. 

 

e) On or after July 1, 2026, but on or before December 31, 2035, fund CDR projects in an 

amount totaling $50 million. 

 

f) Only fund eligible CDR projects that meet both of the following requirements: 

 

i) The eligible CDR project demonstrates the ability to secure carbon removal purchases 

from third parties in an amount at least equal to the amount of funds provided to that 

project by ARB. 

 

ii) The eligible CDR is additional, as defined. 

 

g) To the extent feasible, provide grants CDR projects operating in at least two of the 

following categories: 

 

i) Direct air capture. 

 

ii) Biomass carbon removal and storage. 

 

iii) Enhanced mineralization or enhanced weathering. 

 

iv) Marine carbon dioxide removal. 

 

h) Prioritize the following criteria in selecting eligible CDR projects through the program: 

 

i) The potential of an eligible CDR project to accelerate development of CDR strategies 

to the scale needed to achieve the state target for total CDR by the year 2045. 

 

ii) The potential of an eligible CDR project to be completed on or before December 31, 

2035. 

 

iii) The anticipated impacts of the community benefit mechanisms associated with an 

eligible CDR project. 

 

iv) Distribution of program funds across multiple geographic areas and multiple eligible 

CDR project categories. 
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i) On or before January 1, 2028, adopt guidelines for the program that include all of the 

following: 

 

i) The definition of an eligible CDR project. 

 

ii) A requirement that an eligible CDR project be physically located within the state. 

 

iii) A requirement that an eligible CDR project incorporate or fund community benefit 

mechanisms commensurate with the eligible CDR project. 

 

iv) A requirement that an eligible CDR project results in carbon dioxide removals that 

are verified in the claimed quantity by an independent third-party verifier using 

appropriate, industry-standard protocols. 

 

v) A minimum duration of sequestration, elimination, or other storage of removed gases 

without leakage to the atmosphere that is sufficiently long enough to ensure that the 

risk of leakage poses no material threat to public health, safety, the environment, or 

the achievement of net zero greenhouse gas emissions in California, and shall not be 

less than 100 years. 

 

vi) A prohibition against the use of CDR processes for purposes of enhanced oil 

recovery. 

 

vii) A prohibition against the use of a biomass feedstock for CDR, unless it is for biomass 

carbon removal and storage, as defined. 

 

3) Provides that implementation is subject to an appropriation by the Legislature. 

 

4) Makes related findings. 

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Appropriations Committee: 

 

 ARB estimates ongoing costs of about $2.4 million annually (Greenhouse Gas Reduction 

Fund [GGRF]) and 11 positions to implement the CDRPP. 

 

 One-time costs of $50 million spread over multiple years prior to 2036 (GGRF or other fund) 

for grants to support CDR projects. 

 

COMMENTS: 

1) Background. CDR is an umbrella term used to describe a range of strategies used to remove 

CO2 from the atmosphere, without a relationship to where or when the CO2 was emitted. In 

contrast to carbon capture, CDR is a negative emissions strategy when it involves capturing 

legacy CO2 directly from the atmosphere. To store the CO2 for long periods, it is generally 

injected underground into geological formations, such as former oil and gas reservoirs, deep 

saline formations, and coal beds. 

Radical cuts in GHG emissions are critical to climate change mitigation, but in parallel with 

emissions reductions, most experts agree that CDR is necessary to avert further climate 
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disaster. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s (IPCC) Sixth Assessment asserts 

that global emissions will need to be cut by almost half by 2030 if warming is to be limited to 

1.5°C, the global target in the Paris Agreement. It acknowledged that CDR will be necessary 

to meet the 1.5℃ target, especially in hard-to-abate sectors.  

California too has acknowledged the need for CDR. California has a statutory goal to achieve 

net zero GHG emissions by 2045, with a reduction in emissions of at least 85% from 1990 

levels. This leaves 15% of emissions that need to be removed, estimated to be about 65 

million metric tons (MMT). To balance out those remaining 15% of emissions, ARB’s 2022 

Scoping Plan projected that the state will need about 75 MMT of CDR by 2045 (65 MMT to 

balance out the 15% of remaining emissions in the state inventory plus 10 MMT to balance 

estimated net emissions from natural and working lands). 

There are many biological and non-biological processes that remove carbon dioxide from the 

air and turn it into a solid form, ranging from photosynthesis in plants to chemical capture 

with engineered membrane filters. Each process is unique and requires careful consideration 

to evaluate its usefulness. For example, Frontier (an advanced market commitment to procure 

and drive market development for CDR) evaluates projects on eight characteristics: 

durability, physical footprint, cost, capacity, net negativity, additionality, verifiability, and 

safety and legality.   

 

In this bill, four specific types of CDR are called out: direct air capture, biomass carbon 

removal and storage, enhanced mineralization or weathering, and marine CDR. 

2) Author’s statement: 

CDR refers to removing carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and permanently storing it 

in places like cement, or deep underground in geologically secure locations or in the 

ocean. It does not refer to capturing CO2 from industrial smokestacks. ARB’s 2022 

Scoping Plan for Achieving Carbon Neutrality stated that “there is no path to carbon 

neutrality without carbon removal and sequestration” and established CDR targets of 7 

million metric tons (MMT) annually by 2030 and 75 MMT annually by 2045. 

 

Over the last several years, a small number of companies have voluntarily purchased 

CDR removals as part of their own carbon neutrality goals, but none of the CDR 

removals have occurred in California. To meet the urgent need to reach carbon neutrality 

by 2045, this bill directs ARB to fund and track CDR projects. By accelerating CDR 

development and deployment, the bill is an integral step to remove carbon dioxide from 

the atmosphere and meet the state’s climate goals. 

3) Everything a grant program needs, except the money. This bill is predicated on an 

appropriation of $50 million which was not in the budget bill and has yet to be approved. 

4) Double referral. This bill has been double-referred to the Utilities and Energy Committee. 

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 
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4 Corners Carbon Coalition 

Airminers 

Airmyne 

Alkali Earth 

Altasea at the Port of Los Angeles 

Andes 

California State Pipe Trades Council 

Carbon Blade Corporation 

Carbon Capture 

Carbonbuilt 

Carbonfuture 

CDR.fyi 

Charm Industrial 

City of King 

Clarity Tech 

Climeworks 

Crew Carbon 

Direct Air Capture Coalition 

Equatic Tech 

Heirloom Carbon 

Indigenous Greenhouse Gas Removal Commission 

Neocarbon 

Noya 

Offstream 

Openair 

Openair Collective 

Our Carbon 

Pacific Coast Legacy Emissions Action Network 

Parallel Carbon 

Partnerships for Tribal Carbon Solutions 

Patch Technologies 

Project 2030 

Restore the Delta 

Rethinking Removals 

Sitos Group 

Stripe 

US Biochar Coalition 

Vycarb 

World Resources Institute 

Xprize 

Yosemite Clean Energy 

Opposition 

350 Humboldt 

Biofuelwatch 

Center for Biological Diversity 

Center on Race, Poverty & the Environment 

Environmental Protection Information Center 
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Forests Forever 

Green America 

John Muir Project 

Mount Shasta Bioregional Ecology Center 

Partnership for Policy Integrity 

Sonoma County Climate Activist Network (SOCOCAN!) 

We Advocate Thorough Environmental Review 

 

Analysis Prepared by: Lawrence Lingbloom / NAT. RES. / 
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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 674 (Cabaldon) – As Amended March 24, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:  38-0 

SUBJECT:  Beverage containers:  recycling:  redemption payment and refund value 

SUMMARY:  Reduces the California Redemption Value (CRV) on beverage containers subject 

to the California Beverage Container Recycling and Litter Reduction Act (Bottle Bill) that are a 

box, bladder, pouch, or similar container with a capacity less than 24 fluid ounces that is filled 

with wine or distilled spirits from 25 cents to 10 cents. 

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Establishes the Bottle Bill, which is administered by the Department of Resources Recycling 

and Recovery (CalRecycle). The Bottle Bill requires beverage containers to have a CRV of 5 

cents for most beverage containers that hold fewer than 24 ounces and 10 cents for most 

containers that hold 24 ounces or more. The Bottle Bill additionally sets a CRV of 25 cents 

for boxes, bladders, or pouches containing wine, distilled spirits, wine coolers, or distilled 

spirit coolers. (Public Resources Code (PRC) 14500 et seq.)  

 

2) Establishes the California Beverage Container Recycling Fund (BCRF) and continuously 

appropriates moneys in the BCRF to CalRecycle for specified purposes for the Bottle Bill, 

including paying operation costs, paying grants, and paying handling fees. (PRC 14580) 

 

3) Defines “beverage” to include beer and malt beverages, wine and distilled spirit coolers, 

carbonated and noncarbonated water, soft drinks, sport drinks, fruit drinks, coffee and tea 

drinks, vegetable juice, distilled spirits, and wine.  (PRC 14504) 

 

4) Defines “beverage container” as the individual, separate bottle, can, jar, carton, or other 

receptacle in which a beverage is sold, and that is constructed of metal, glass, plastic, or any 

other material, or any combination of these materials.  (PRC 14505)  

 

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, unknown, potentially 

significant forgone revenue, possibly in the millions of dollars annually (BCRF), due to a 

reduction in CRV deposits on small box, bladder, or pouched wine or distilled spirits. This 

decrease in revenue would be largely offset by decreased expenditures for reduced CRV payouts 

on these containers if they are redeemed by consumers. On average, beverage containers 

currently in the program are recycled at a rate of about 75%. If the specific containers that would 

be affected by this bill are recycled at a similar rate, the net fiscal effect would likely be fewer 

dollars going to the BCRF. 

 

CalRecycle estimates one-time costs of about $200,000 (BCRF) to update database infrastructure 

to reflect the new CRV rates for the specified container types identified in SB 674. 
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COMMENTS:   

1) Bottle Bill.  The Bottle Bill was established in 1986 to be a self-funded program that 

encourages consumers to recycle beverage containers and to prevent littering. The program 

accomplishes this goal by requiring consumers to pay a deposit for each eligible container 

purchased.  Then the program guarantees consumers repayment of that deposit, the CRV, for 

each eligible container returned to a certified recycler.  Statute includes two main goals for 

the program:  (1) reducing litter; and, (2) achieving a recycling rate of 80% for eligible 

containers.  Containers recycled through the Bottle Bill’s certified recycling centers also 

provides a consistent, clean, uncontaminated stream of recycled materials with minimal 

processing.   

 

2) Funding.  The CRV is paid up-front by distributors to CalRecycle for every covered 

beverage container sold in the state.  Next, distributors are paid by retailers for the CRV 

collected on beverages sold, and retailers collect the CRV from consumers at the time of 

retail sale. CRV is paid into the BCRF, which is used to fund CRV redemption when 

consumers return beverage containers for recycling.  Unredeemed CRV funds are used to 

fund the administration of the Bottle Bill, grants that advance recycling, and various 

payments that keep the program running.  
 

When the recycling rate increases, less funding is available to make all the budgeted 

payments prescribed in statute, including funding CRV redemptions, administration, local 

grants, and other payments.  A structural deficit occurs when funding needs exceed revenue.  

When recycling rates are high, the BCRF operates in a structural deficit. If a structural deficit 

persists long enough to threaten funding sufficiency, CalRecycle is required to 

“proportionally reduce” spending equally across nearly all funding expenditures to preserve 

sufficient funding to refund CRV to consumers.   

3) Recent expansions.  The Bottle Bill historically included most glass, aluminum, and plastic 

containers for water, beer, soda, sports drinks, and smaller containers of fruit and vegetable 

juices. In 2022, it was expanded to include wine and distilled spirits, including wine sold in 

boxes, pouches, and bladders.  In 2024, it was expanded to include all vegetable and fruit 

juice containers.  As new containers are added to the program, there tends to be an initial 

increase in unredeemed CRV due to lower recycling rates for the new containers.  As 

consumers begin returning the containers for recycling, that initial increase in unredeemed 

CRV slows or potentially even results in a structural deficit, depending on the recycling rate.   

 

4) Boxes, bladders, and pouches.  The legislation that added wine and distilled spirits, SB 

1013 (Atkins), Chapter 610, Statutes of 2022, set the CRV for wine in boxes, bladders, and 

pouches at 25 cents.  The higher CRV was intended to reflect the challenges associated with 

these container types.  These containers have little to no scrap value, and the state does not 

currently have the infrastructure necessary to collect and recycle them.   

 

5) Timing.  This bill revises the CRV on containers that were only included in the Bottle Bill at 

the beginning of 2024.  There is very little information available yet regarding redemption 

rates, recycling costs, and their impact to the BCRF.  Additionally, when the CRV reduction 

goes into effect, the redemption value will be lower (by 15 cents per container) than what the 

consumer paid at the time of purchase.  A fundamental tenet of the Bottle Bill is that 

consumers are able to redeem the full CRV.   



SB 674 
 Page 3 

6) Author’s statement:  

Affordability is the top concern for California residents. Whether it’s the price of 

eggs, the cost of a family vehicle, or the variable cost of similar goods, our 

constituents are constantly evaluating their purchases to find the best price 

possible.  

Unfortunately, due to prior legislation, Californians are being disincentivized 

from purchasing a product that offers several environmental benefits. Current law 

assesses a California Redemption Value of $0.25 on all boxed wines and spirits, 

regardless of their size. Newer to market single serving boxed wines in containers 

often referred to as Tetra Pak’s, are competing with canned products that are only 

charged a fee of $0.05 if the product is less than 24 ounces. 

The environmental benefits of these new single serving beverages are significant 

and include increased packaging efficiency, reducing greenhouse gas emissions 

during transportation, decreased product wastage due to longer shelf life, and the 

ability to be turned into durable, sustainable building materials with an 80% lower 

carbon footprint than traditional building materials. 

SB 674 creates a more equitable CRV for boxed wine and spirits under 24 ounces 

by lowering the CRV to $.10. This change ensures that consumers of all economic 

levels can choose environmentally sustainable products while also thinking about 

affordability. 

7) Previous legislation.   

AB 457 (Aguiar-Curry, 2024) would have reduced the CRV for small box, bladder, or 

pouched wine or distilled spirits in the Bottle Bill from 25 cents to 10 cents, and authorized 

small beverage container distributors, to make a single annual payment of redemption 

payments. This bill was vetoed by the governor.  

 

SB 353 (Dodd), Chapter 868, Statutes of 2023, added fruit juice containers of 46 ounces or 

more and vegetable juice containers 16 ounces or more to the Bottle Bill beginning January 

1, 2024.  Increases processing payments by changing the method for determining scrap value 

and provides an additional payment to rural recycling centers for handling glass containers. 

 

SB 1013 (Atkins), Chapter 610, Statutes of 2022, brings wine and distilled spirits into the 

California Beverage Container Recycling Program, introduces new grant programs, expands 

the convenience zones, and creates dealer cooperatives to serve unserved areas.  

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

Beatbox Beverages, LLC  
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Opposition 

Ardagh Glass Corporation 

Glass Packaging Institute  

Analysis Prepared by: Elizabeth MacMillan / NAT. RES. / 
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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 676 (Limón) – As Amended March 24, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:  39-0 

SUBJECT:  California Environmental Quality Act:  judicial streamlining:  state of emergency:  

fire 

SUMMARY:  Establishes expedited administrative and judicial review procedures under the 

California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) for a project that is located in a geographic area 

that was damaged by a fire for which the Governor declared a state of emergency, requiring the 

courts to resolve lawsuits within 270 days, to the extent feasible. 

EXISTING LAW:    

1) CEQA requires lead agencies with the principal responsibility for carrying out or approving a 

proposed project to prepare a negative declaration, mitigated negative declaration, or 

environmental impact report (EIR) for this action, unless the project is exempt from CEQA 

(CEQA includes various statutory exemptions, as well as categorical exemptions in the 

CEQA guidelines). (Public Resources Code (PRC) 21000 et seq.) 

 

2) Authorizes judicial review of CEQA actions taken by public agencies, following the agency's 

decision to carry out or approve the project.  Challenges alleging improper determination that 

a project may have a significant effect on the environment, or alleging an EIR does not 

comply with CEQA, must be filed in the superior court within 30 days of filing of the notice 

of approval.  The courts are required to give CEQA actions preference over all other civil 

actions. Requires the court to regulate the briefing schedule so that, to the extent feasible, 

hearings commence within one year of the filing of the appeal. Requires the plaintiff to 

request a hearing within 90 days of filing the petition. Requires the court to establish a 

briefing schedule and a hearing date, requires briefing to be completed within 90 days of the 

plaintiff’s request for hearing, and requires the hearing, to the extent feasible, to be held 

within 30 days thereafter. (PRC 21167 et seq.) 

 

3) Establishes an alternative, optional procedure for concurrent preparation and certification of 

the administrative record in electronic form, as follows: 

 

a) Requires the lead agency, upon written request by a project applicant and with consent of 

the lead agency, to concurrently prepare the record of proceedings with the administrative 

process. 

 

b) Requires all documents and other materials placed in the record of proceedings to be 

posted on a Web site maintained by the lead agency. 

 

c) Requires the lead agency to make publicly available, in electronic format, the draft 

environmental document, and associated documents, for the project. 
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d) Requires the lead agency to make any comment publicly available electronically within 

five days of its receipt. 

 

e) Requires the lead agency to certify the record of proceedings within 30 days after filing 

notice of determination or approval. 

 

f) Requires certain environmental review documents to include a notice, as specified, 

stating that the document is subject to this section. 

 

g) Requires the applicant to pay for the lead agency’s cost of concurrently preparing and 

certifying the record of proceedings. 

(PRC 21167.6.2) 

THIS BILL: 

1) Requires, for a project that is located in a geographic area that was damaged by a fire for 

which the Governor declared a state of emergency, and the project is not otherwise exempt 

from CEQA under the existing emergency exemption or by a Governor’s executive order: 

 

a) Concurrent preparation of the administrative record pursuant to PRC 21167.6.2. 

 

b) Lawsuits challenging approval of the project to be resolved, to the extent feasible, within 

270 calendar days of the filing of the certified record of proceedings with the court. 

 

2) Requires the Judicial Council to adopt rules of court to implement this requirement. 

 

3) Provides the bill: 

 

a) Applies only to a project that is consistent with the applicable zoning and land use 

ordinances. 

 

b) Does not apply to a project that is proposed after the Governor rescinds the emergency 

declaration. 

 

c) Applies to projects in a geographic area that was damaged by fire for which the Governor 

has declared a state of emergency on or after January 1, 2023. 

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Appropriations Committee: 

 Unknown but potentially significant cost pressure (General Fund) to the state-funded court 

system to process and hear challenges to the project's environmental review within the 

timeframes prescribed by the bill. 

 Unknown but potentially significant costs (General Fund) to Judicial Council to adopt rules 

of the court to guide implementation of the provisions of this bill. 

COMMENTS:   

1) Background. CEQA provides a process for evaluating the environmental effects of 

applicable projects undertaken or approved by public agencies. If a project is not exempt 
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from CEQA, an initial study is prepared to determine whether the project may have a 

significant effect on the environment. If the initial study shows that there would not be a 

significant effect on the environment, the lead agency must prepare a negative declaration. If 

the initial study shows that the project may have a significant effect on the environment, the 

lead agency must prepare an EIR. 

 

An EIR must accurately describe the proposed project, identify and analyze each significant 

environmental impact expected to result from the proposed project, identify mitigation 

measures to reduce those impacts to the extent feasible, and evaluate a range of reasonable 

alternatives to the proposed project. If mitigation measures are required or incorporated into a 

project, the agency must adopt a reporting or monitoring program to ensure compliance with 

those measures. 

 

Generally, CEQA actions taken by public agencies can be challenged in superior court once 

the agency approves or determines to carry out the project. CEQA appeals are subject to 

unusually short statutes of limitations. Under current law, court challenges of CEQA 

decisions generally must be filed within 30-35 days, depending on the type of decision. The 

courts are required to give CEQA actions preference over all other civil actions. However, 

the schedules for briefing, hearing, and decision are less definite. The petitioner must request 

a hearing within 90 days of filing the petition and, generally, briefing must be completed 

within 90 days of the request for hearing. There is no deadline specified for the court to 

render a decision. 

2) Author’s statement: 

The LA wildfires, Eaton and Palisades have reportedly caused property losses close to 

$53 billion. In addition, a few weeks prior to the LA wildfires, the Mountain Fire in 

Camarillo destroyed 243 structures. As wildfire risks continue to rise every year, it is 

imperative that we ensure affected communities can be restored after a disaster. By 

adding consistency to the community rebuilding process, SB 676 aims to support the 

state’s wildfire resiliency efforts. 

3) An unpredictable expansion of expedited judicial review. This bill proposes to offer 

expedited judicial review to any project in an eligible fire-damaged area. This extends well 

beyond replacement of fire-damaged structures, which are typically exempt from CEQA, to 

include new projects of any type that may have no relationship to fire damage except for 

location in an area covered by a fire-related emergency declaration. 

 

In light of the staff and cost pressures the 270-day timeline creates on the judicial branch, 

prior bills have required project applicants to pay the costs of the trial court and court of 

appeal related to the courts hearing and adjudicating any expedited CEQA lawsuit. 

  

CEQA litigation already enjoys significant preferences and protections for project proponents 

and lead agencies. For example, affordable housing projects challenged under CEQA can 

seek the imposition of financial assurances from plaintiffs to ensure the project is not harmed 

by frivolous litigation. Additionally, the existing civil litigation calendaring preferences 

means that CEQA litigation takes priority over all other civil cases, including those involving 

elderly or terminally-ill plaintiffs, eviction and other housing related matters, labor and back 

wage disputes, and cases in which person’s civil rights and liberties are at stake.  
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CEQA cases can be highly complex, and in order to facilitate proper review of the cases staff 

assets may be pulled from other judicial departments. This bill may dramatically expand the 

number of cases that seek judicial streamlining. While the courts successfully managed the 

few cases that have been fast-tracked since 2011, should this bill result in an influx of 

streamlined cases, the courts may become overwhelmed. If the trial courts are presented with 

multiple cases, the feasibility of resolving each case in time may diminish, as will the benefit 

of the bill. 

 

4) Suggested amendments. This bill appears to apply more broadly than the author’s stated 

intent to support rebuilding of fire-damaged communities. The author and the committee may 

wish to consider amending the bill to apply to projects to “maintain, repair, restore, demolish, 

or replace property or facilities damaged or destroyed by wildfire, where the project is 

located in a geographic area for which the Governor declared a state of emergency.” 

5) Double referral. This bill has been double-referred to the Judiciary Committee. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

California Apartment Association 

California Association of Realtors 

League of California Cities 

Opposition 

Judicial Council of California 

 

Analysis Prepared by: Lawrence Lingbloom / NAT. RES. / 
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Date of Hearing:  July 7, 2025  

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES 

Isaac G. Bryan, Chair 

SB 856 (Committee on Natural Resources and Water) – As Amended April 21, 2025 

SENATE VOTE:  36-0  

SUBJECT:  California Coastal Act of 1976: filing fee waiver: Marine Invasive Species Act: 

biennial reports: semiannual updates 

SUMMARY:  Authorizes the California Coastal Commission (Commission) to waive the filing 

fee for an application for a coastal development permit (CDP) amendment; requires the 

California State Lands Commission (SLC) to prepare a report on the Marine Invasive Species 

Program (MISP) triennially, instead of biennially; requires the SLC to post certain information 

on its internet website semiannually; and, makes technical changes to the MISP report to address 

potential federal preemption issues. 

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Pursuant to the California Coastal Act (Public Resources Code (PRC) 30000 et seq.):    

a) Requires, in addition to obtaining any other permit required by law from any local 

government or from any state, regional, or local agency, any person wishing to perform 

or undertake any development in the coastal zone, other than a specified facility, to obtain 

a CDP.   

b) Requires, if prior to certification of its local coastal plan (LCP), a CDP to be obtained 

from the Commission or from a local government, as provided. Requires, after 

certification of its LCP, a CDP to be obtained from the local government. 

c) Establishes the policy of the state that no less than 50% of funds received by the state 

from the federal government pursuant to the Federal Coastal Zone Management Act of 

1972 shall be used for the preparation, review, approval, certification, and 

implementation of LCPs.  

d) Requires the Commission to prepare interim procedures for the submission, review, and 

appeal of CDP applications and of claims of exemption. Authorizes the Commission to 

require a reasonable filing fee and the reimbursement of expenses for the processing by 

the Commission of an application for a CDP.  

2) Pursuant to the Marine Invasive Species Act (PRC 71200-71202): 

a) Establishes the Act to apply to all vessels, United States and foreign, carrying, or capable 

of carrying, ballast water into the coastal waters of the state after operating outside of the 

coastal waters of the state, with specified exceptions.  

b) Requires SLC, in consultation with the State Water Resources Control Board, the 

Department of Fish and Wildlife, and the United States Coast Guard, to update biennially 

the report on ballast water discharge. 
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THIS BILL:    

1) Authorizes the Commission to waive the filing fee for an application for a CDP or permit 

amendment required under the Coastal Act. Authorizes, when the Commission waives the 

filing fee, the Commission to specify whether the waiver also applies to future applications 

for an amendment to the permit. 

2) Makes clarifying statutory delineations of the coastal zone in Los Angeles County and 

Orange County.  

3) Changes the requirement for SLC to update its report on ballast water discharge from 

biennially to triennially.  

4) Requires, on or before April 30, 2026, and updated semiannually, SLC to publish on its 

internet website both of the following: 

a) A summary of the information provided in the ballast water management report forms 

submitted to SLC, including vessel arrival data indicating vessel type and arrival port, 

and volumes of ballast water discharged into state waters by vessel type and arrival port; 

and,  

 

b) Inspection and compliance rates for vessels, as available. 

5) Deletes obsolete references and makes technical cleanup changes to update erroneous cross 

references.  

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, this bill has negligible 

state costs and was approved pursuant to Senate Rule 28.8. 

COMMENTS:   

1) Author’s statement: 

The 2025 Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee omnibus bill includes 

minor technical changes and clarifying changes to statute that affects the 

Commission and the SLC.   

2) CDP Filing fees. The Commission administers the Coastal Act and regulates proposed 

development along the coast and in nearby areas in the coastal zone. Generally, any 

development activity in the coastal zone requires a CDP from the Commission or local 

government with a certified LCP. In the jurisdictions with certified LCPs, local governments 

issue CDPs with detailed planning and design standards. About 88% of the coastal zone is 

governed by a certified LCP. There are 14 jurisdictions (out of 15 counties and 61 cities) 

without LCPs – also known as “uncertified” jurisdictions – where the Commission is still the 

permitting authority for CDPs.  

The Commission charges filing fees for processing CDP applications at varying amounts 

depending on the size, scope, and grading of a proposed project, as outlined in Title 14 of the 

California Code of Regulations sec. 13055. The established fee is required to be paid in full 

at the time the CDP application is filed. 
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SB 856 authorizes the Commission to waive the filing fee for an application for a CDP or 

permit amendment required under the Coastal Act. 

3) Marine Invasive Species Program. Shipping is the major pathway by which aquatic 

invasive (nonnative) species are transported around the globe and is responsible for up to 

79.5% of established aquatic invasive species introductions in North America. Commercial 

ships transport organisms through ballast water and vessel biofouling. Ballast water is used 

by ships to maintain stability at sea. When ballast water is loaded in one port and discharged 

in another, the entrained organisms are introduced to new regions. 

The MISP is designed to reduce the risk of introducing non-native species into state waters 

from vessels 300 gross registered tons and greater that are capable of carrying ballast water.  

Every two years, the SLC is tasked with updating the Legislature on the broader program 

with a formal report on MISP activities.  

In 2025 Biennial Report, the SLC made a number of recommendations based on data in the 

report.  The recommendations included amending the MISA to require that the MISP report 

be updated triennially instead of biennially and amendments to align with the federal Vessel 

Incidental Discharge Act.   

Consistent with those recommendations, SB 856 changes the requirement for SLC to update 

its report from biennially to triennially and requires SLC to publish on its internet website 

both a summary of the information provided in the ballast water management report forms, 

including vessel arrival data indicating vessel type and arrival port, and volumes of ballast 

water discharged into state waters by vessel type and arrival port; and, inspection and 

compliance rates for vessels, as available. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

California Coastal Commission 

California State Lands Commission 

Opposition 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Paige Brokaw / NAT. RES. /
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